< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka 'A' Beat Kenya 5-1

Upul Tharanga
Upul Tharanga was in good form on the final day of Sri Lanka A's series against Kenya
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka 'A' beat Kenya 5-1 in their Twenty20 series after winning the penultimate match by five wickets and the final game being abandoned.

The Sri Lankans won game six of the seven-match series with four balls to spare and had reached 129 for four in the 17th over of the final match when rain arrived.

The third and final double-header began with Kenya struggling and slipping to 12 for three as new-ball pairing Ishan Jayaratne (2-23) and Lahiru Jayarathne (2-28) combined effectively.

Irfan Karim's 53 in 55 balls helped steady the ship while Collins Obuya (25) and Rakep Patel (28 in 12 balls) helped them reach a score of 131 for six, which represented a decent recovery.

However, it wasn't enough to defeat a strong Sri Lankan 'A' side led by opener Upul Tharanga, who hit 48 in 45 balls.

Mahela Udawatte made 31 and Kithruwan Vithanage 20 not out but a haul of three for 15 from Hiren Varaiya ensured that the home side had to work hard for their win with the final runs only coming in the final over after Nehamiah Odhiambo had dismissed Jayarathne to set up a tense finale.

Sri Lanka 'A' then batted first in the afternoon game and looked set for a big score. Tharanga blasted 52 in 42 balls and wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella registered a new Twenty20 career-best of 42 in 34.

With more than three overs to go, a score in excess of 150 looked on the cards but the weather intervened instead.

Kenya continue their preparations for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 Qualifier in the United Arab Emirates when they play warm-up matches against Namibia on 11th November and Hong Kong two days later.

Their bid to reach their first ICC World Twenty20 event since 2007 then begins with a game against Papua New Guinea on 15th November.

They also play Afghanistan, Bermuda, Denmark, Netherlands, Nepal and Scotland in their group.

© Cricket World 2013