Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Sri Lanka announce Dinesh Chandimal as Test captain

Dinesh Chandimal will replace Angelo Mathews as captain in Tests
Dinesh Chandimal will replace Angelo Mathews as captain in Tests

Sri Lanka have confirmed Dinesh Chandimal as the Test skipper after Angelo Mathews announced his decision to step down on Tuesday.

The 27-year-old has vast experience as a vice-captain working under Mathews and has also led the team in the Twenty20 Internationals. However, his dip in form had costed his place in the recently concluded One-Day International series against Zimbabwe, which the visitors won 2-3.

All-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva misses out on selection for the one-off Test against Zimbabwe that kicks-off on Thursday while Kusal Perera and Nuwan Pradeep are sidelined with injuries.

There are also recalls for fast bowlers Vishwa Fernando and Dushmantha Chameera, who will feature in the longer format for the first time this year with Lahiru Kumara and Suranga Lakmal being the other pacers in the squad.

Rangana Herath will lead the spin attack that also has Dilruwan Perera and Lakshan Sandakan while Asela Gunaratne and Danushka Gunathilaka can be handy with their bowling as well.

Following the conclusion of the game against Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka will host India in a three-match Test series that begins later this month.

Meanwhile, the selectors have also named Upul Tharanga as the captain for the ODIs and T20Is format.

Sri Lanka squad for Zimbabwe Test:

Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Dimuth Karunaratne, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara

© Cricket World 2017