< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka announce fixtures for T20 tri-series involving Bangladesh, India

India and Sri Lanka are set to face each other in a tri-series next year
India and Sri Lanka are set to face each other in a tri-series next year

Sri Lanka Cricket on Friday has confirmed a Twenty20 International tri-series involving India and Bangladesh to be played in March next year.

All the games have been scheduled at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo and have been slated to be played between 8th and 20th March with each team playing the other two sides in the group stage with the top two qualifying for a final face-off.

Named the Nidahas Trophy, the series will mark the celebration for Sri Lanka's 70th year of independence and the Board of Control for Cricket in India and the Bangladesh Cricket Board expressed their delight to join the contest.

"We are privileged to be a part of Sri Lanka's 70th year celebrations, there is no closer friend to the BCCI than Sri Lanka [and Bangladesh] and when Mr. Sumathipala first floated this invitation, there was almost instant agreement that the Indian Team would participate for this reason," said BCCI CEO Rahul Johri.

"The support and contribution of Sri Lanka [and India] in Bangladesh's cricketing journey could not be overemphasized, and that this invitation was a clear testament to what a good friend Sri Lanka has been to Bangladesh's Cricket," added BCB President Nazmul Hasan.

SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala is pleased with the BCCI and BCB's decision to accept the invitation.

"70 years is a long journey, and one that needs to be commemorated and celebrated.

"We are happy that our closest neighbours, who share more or less the same journey of independence are joining us in this celebration, which we believe will be a milestone and an augur of thegreat things to come in the annals of cricket."

Earlier, the Nidahas Trophy was also played as a celebration for Sri Lanka's 50th year of independence and also SLC's 50th year landmark since its inception.

© Cricket World 2017