< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Sri Lanka appoint Sanath Jayasuriya as chief selector

Sri Lanka appoint Sanath Jayasuriya as chief selector
Sanath Jayasuriya had a successful stint as the chief selector between January 2013 and March 2015.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has appointed former captain Sanath Jayasuriya as the chief selector for a period of two years starting from 1st May.

Jayasuriya previously served as a chief selector and stepped down from the post in April 2015 following the appointment of a new interim committee.

Apart from Jayasuriya, former wicket-keeper batsman Romesh Kaluwitharana, former bowlers Eric Upashantha and Ranjith Madurasinghe have been appointed in the four-member selection panel.

Kaluwitharana is Jayasuriya’s former opening partner while Upashantha has worked in the previous selection committee between 2013 and 2015 and Madurasinghe is the part of the current committee.

In a press release, SLC announced the decision and expressed their thanks to the incumbent selection committee which is headed by Aravinda de Silva.

“SLC is pleased to announce that the Hon. Minister of Sport has ratified its recommendation of the 2016/2017 Selection Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket.

“As such, the following have been appointed by the Hon. Minister, Dayasiri Jayasekera - Mr. Sanath Jayasuriya – Chairman, Mr. Romesh Kaluwitharana, Mr. Ranjith Madurasinghe, Mr. Eric Upashantha.

“The new Committee will take office on the 1st of May 2016.

“SLC wishes to express their gratitude to the incumbent Selection Committee for their time and dedication in the best interests of SLC.”

Under Jayasuriya’s previous term between January 2013 and March 2015, Sri Lanka went on to win the ICC World Twenty20, Asia Cup and a Test series against England, all in the year 2014.

© Cricket World 2016