< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka Dismiss Dutch For 39 In Massive Win

Ajantha Mendis is congratulated
Ajantha Mendis (centre) took three for 12 as Sri Lanka ran out easy winners against the Netherlands
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka 40-1 beat
Netherlands 39 (Mendis 3-12) by nine wickets
ICC World Twenty20 2014 Group One, Chittagong

Sri Lanka dismissed the Netherlands for 39, the lowest score ever registered in a Twenty20 International, on their way to a handsome nine-wicket win in Group One of the ICC World Twenty20 in Chittagong.

After dismissing the Dutch in just 10.3 overs, they needed just five overs to reach their target, also setting a new record by winning the match with 90 balls to spare.

After the Netherlands' outstanding victory over Ireland to qualify for the Super 10s, they were outclassed by Sri Lanka.

Coverage in association with Clarus XC

Ajantha Mendis (3-12), Angelo Mathews (3-16), Lasith Malinga (2-5) and Nuwan Kulasekara (1-0) tore through their batting and in reply, they only Kushal Perera, for 14.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (12 not out) and Mahela Jayawardene (11 not out) guided them to the simplest of victories that puts them clear at the top of the group with two wins from two games played.

Netherlands simply had no answer to Sri Lanka's pace, experience or guile, and were quickly in trouble when Kulasekara began with a wicket maiden which included the wicket of Stephan Myburgh who was caught at third man by Malinga.

Two wickets fell with the score on one in consecutive balls when Mathews had Mitchell Swart (0) and Wesley Barresi (1) caught by Kumar Sangakkara and Dinesh Chandimal respectively. The Netherlands were nine for four when captain Peter Borren was trapped in front by Mathews for a seven-ball duck.

The Cooper brothers, Tom and Ben, then moved the score on to 25 before Ben was run out by Thisara Perera and after Tom fell with the score on 33, leg before to Mendis, the end came quickly.

Malinga bowled Mudassar Bukhari (4) and Luuk van Beek (1) while Mendis completed his haul by removing Pieter Seelaar (3) and Ahsan Malik (0).

Malik then took the wicket of Kushal Perera, who had made 14 in 10 balls when he holed out to Swart at long on.

Dilshan and Jayawardene then finished off the job with a minimum of fuss with a brace of fours apiece.

© Cricket World 2014