Sri Lanka Dismissed For 239 Despite Fine Start

Sri Lanka Dismissed For 239 Despite Fine Start
Sri Lanka Dismissed For 239 Despite Fine Start
©REUTERS/Arko Datta. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka 239 (Tharanga 73, Jadeja 4-32) v India

Third One-Day International, Cuttack

Sri Lanka failed to capitalise on an excellent start as they were bowled out for 239 by India in the third One-Day International between the two sides in Cuttack.

Yuvraj Singh returned from injury as Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first and belligerent innings of 73 from Upul Tharanga and 41 from Tillakaratne Dilshan appeared to be setting the stage for another score of at least 300, but India hit back, left-arm spinner Ravi Jadeja picking up figures of four for 32.

Dilshan's charge was ended when he edged a pull shot to be caught by Dinesh Karthik off Ashish Nehra and Sri Lanka paid the penalty for loading their side with bowlers as they collapsed from 165 for two to be all out in 44.2 overs.

Jadeja returned the best figures by an Indian spinner at the ground by dismissing Tharanga, who faced 81 balls, Chamara Kapugedera (15), Nuwan Kulasekara (10) and Ajantha Mendis (6).

Kumar Sangakkara made a stylish 46 but there was precious little from the rest of the batting as the Indians recovered from a poor start to take control of the game, Ishant Sharma and Ashish Nehra both returning two wickets.

Yuvraj, who missed the first two matches due to a hand injury, replaces Virat Kohli in the Indian line-up which shows two other changes from the last match in Nagpur. Banned Mahendra Singh Dhoni is replaced behind the stumps by Karthik and as captain by Virender Sehwag while Praveen Kumar is left out in favour of Sharma.

Kulasekara returns for Sri Lanka at the expense of Suranga Lakmal while the absence of Angelo Mathews through injury means the tourists have opted to load their team with bowlers, Lasith Malinga returning.

Malinga was the last man to fall when he was bowled attempting an expansive drive off Nehra having made 13.

The series is level at 1-1 after two close, high-scoring encounters in Rajkot and Nagpur.

India: Virender Sehwag (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Kathik, Ravi Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Ashish Nehra

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Chanaka Welagedara

© Cricket World 2009