Sri Lanka make changes to squad for first Test

Nuwan Pradeep returns back to Sri Lanka Test squad
Nuwan Pradeep returns back to Sri Lanka Test squad

Sri Lanka have made three changes to their squad for the first Test against India that kicks-off in Colombo on Wednesday.

Middle-order batsman Dhananjaya de Silva and pacer Nuwan Pradeep have been recalled while uncapped all-rounder Malinda Pushpakumara is also drafted into the squad.

Dhananjaya, who was excluded in the original squad announced earlier will replace skipper Dinesh Chandimal in the squad after he was ruled out of the first game due to pneumonia. Even in the warm-up game Dhananjaya failed to create any impact as he was snared by Ravindra Jadeja for nought.

Meanwhile, Pradeep, who has been one of Sri Lanka's in-form bowler in the longer format of the game has recovered from a niggle and takes the place of Dushmantha Chameera.

With Rangana Herath and Dilruwan Perera leading the spin department, the selectors have decided to leave out left-arm-wrist spinner Lakshan Sandakan, who accounted for six wickets from three ODIs against Zimbabwe and has a overall record of 15 wickets from five Tests.

However, Pushpakumara's inclusion came with no surprise as he claimed 27 wickets from three games against England Lions and has a vast experience in domestic circuit after featuring in 99 first-class games in which he picked 558 wickets at an average of 19.

Herath will captain the Sri Lankan side for the first game of the three-match series in the absence of Chandimal.

Sri Lanka squad for first Test:

Rangana Herath (captain), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara, Nuwan Pradeep

© Cricket World 2017