Sri Lanka Make History With 29-Run Win Over Australia

Sri Lanka Make History With 29-Run Win Over Australia
Sri Lanka Make History With 29-Run Win Over Australia
©REUTERS/Daniel Munoz (AUSTRALIA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka 213-3 (Tharanga 87no, Watson 2-34) beat
Australia 210 (Watson 40, Muralitharan 2-30) by 29 runs (D/L)
Second One-Day International, Sydney

Sri Lanka made history by securing their first ever series victory in Australia courtesy of a 29-run Duckworth/Lewis win in the second One-Day International in Sydney.

Their innings was closed on 213 for three in 41.1 overs and after Australia, following two stoppages for rain, were set 240 to win in 39 overs, they were bowled out for 210.

Upul Tharanga's unbeaten 87 underpinned Sri Lanka's innings as the opener faced 112 balls, hitting six fours while innings of 47 from Tillakaratne Dilshan and 45 from Kumar Sangakkara offered him useful support.

Mahela Jayawardene (5) was the other man to be dismissed, the first of two wickets for Shane Watson, who had Jayawardene trapped in front and Sangakkara caught by Clint McKay.

Dilshan fell when he was trapped in front by Nathan Hauritz, who was back in the side in place of Xavier Doherty while returning captain Ricky Ponting replaces the injured Shaun Marsh for Australia.

Angelo Mathews was unbeaten on 17 in 11 balls after Sri Lanka named an unchanged side from the team that won the opening match in Melbourne by one wicket.

Sri Lanka then struck with wickets early on as Australia made an uncertain start, Brad Haddin bowled by Nuwan Kulasekara for one and Ponting pulling Tissara Perera to Chamara Silva for ten.

Watson (40), Michael Clarke (25) and Cameron White (35) worked hard to get Australia back into the game but they were consistently undermined by Sri Lanka's incisive bowling which returned regular wickets.

Kulasekara, Perera, Muttiah Muralitharan and Suraj Randiv all took two wickets and despite Mitchell Johnson's cameo of 23 in 17 balls, Australia were well beaten by then and the end came when Clint McKay was bowled by Lasith Malinga for ten.

The third and final game will be played in Brisbane on Sunday, 7th November.

© Cricket World 2010