< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka name 15-strong squad for tour of New Zealand

Shashikala Siriwardene will lead Sri Lanka in New Zealand
Shashikala Siriwardene will lead Sri Lanka in New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka have named a 15-member women's squad to tour New Zealand where they will play five One-Day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals.

The squad has been whittled down from a 20-strong training squad named in September

Sri Lanka have not been in action since they hosted West Indies Women in May, since when they have appointed Shashikala Siriwardene as captain, replacing Chamari Atapattu, who is now the vice-captain.

From the initial squad, Suganthika Kumara, Kushanthi Liyanage, Eshani Lokusuriya, Lasanthi Madushani, Rose Perera and Oshadi Ranasinghe have been left out.

Achini Kulasuriya, Ranasinghe and Madushani have been named as standby players while into the squad comes Sugandhika Dassanayake despite being left out of the initial 20-strong touring party.

The tour to New Zealand will be Lanka de Silva's first assignment as coach since taking over in July.

The series begins with the first ODI on 3rd November and ends with the third and final T20I on 22nd November.

The first three ODIs count towards the ICC Women's Championship, the qualifying competition for the ICC Women's World Cup 2017.

Sri Lanka Women's squad: Shashikala Siriwardene (captain), Chamari Atapattu (vice-captain), Sugandhika Dassanayake, Nipuni Hansika, Ama Kanchana, Dilani Manodara, Hasini Perera, Chamari Polgampola, Udeshika Prabodhani, Inoka Ranaweera, Maduri Samuddhika, Anushika Sanjeevani, Nilakshi de Silva, Prasadini Weerakkody, Sripali Weerakkody

© Cricket World 2015