< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Jayawardene Back For Asia Cup, ICC WT20

Mahela Jayawardene
Mahela Jayawardene led Sri Lanka to the final in 2012 and he returns from injury for the 2014 ICC WT20
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka have included experienced batsman Mahela Jayawardene in their squads for the Asia Cup and the ICC World Twenty20 2014, both of which will be held in Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka are currently in Bangladesh for a three-match ODI series and from the squad picked to play there, Kithruwan Vithanage, Angelo Perera and Seekkuge Prasanna have been left out.

Chathurange de Silva comes in as Jayawardene, who missed the series in Bangladesh with a damaged hand, returns.

Rangana Herath, who is a doubt for the ICC World Twenty20 is left out with de Silva preferreed.

De Silva has been named as Herath's potential replacement should the experienced left-arm spinner not recover in time for the ICC WT20.

Angelo Perera misses out again, having been selected to play in the two-match series in Bangladesh recently, as he makes way for Jayawardene.

Sri Lanka play Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India and Pakistan in the Asia Cup, aiming to win through to the final on 8th March.

Runners-up to Pakistan and the West Indies in the ICC World Twenty20 in 2009 and 2012 respectively, their begin their bid to go one better against South Africa on 22nd March.

They will go on to play a qualifier on 24th March, England on 27th March and finish their group stage off against New Zealand on 31st March.

The top two sides in the group will then progress to the semi-finals.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kushal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Chathuranga de Silva

Sri Lanka ICC World Twenty20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Lasith Maligna (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilsha, Kushal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna

© Cricket World 2014