Sri Lanka Reach Semis By Beating Australia

Sri Lanka Reach Semis By Beating Australia
Sri Lanka Reach Semis By Beating Australia
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka 253-8 (Jayawardene 84no) beat
Australia 233 (Voges 49) by 20 runs
ICC Champions Trophy Group A, The Oval
Scorecard | Video Report | Highlights
Report by John Pennington

Sri Lanka produced an efficient performance to beat Australia by 20 runs and book themselves an ICC Champions Trophy 2013 semi-final against India.

Set 254 to win, Australia needed to get the runs within 29.1 overs to stay in the tournament and they gave game chase but lost too many wickets along the way and were eventually dismissed for 233.

A defeat of any kind for Sri Lanka would have seen them out and they stuck to their task with Nuwan Kulasekara taking three wickets but there was almost a twist in the tale as Australia's last batsmen Clint McKay (30) and Xavier Doherty (15 not out) added 41 for the final wicket to delay Sri Lanka's celebrations.

Australia's failure to get the runs meant that New Zealand were also knocked out and England, as group winners, will play South Africa in the other semi-final.

George Bailey won the toss and decided to invite Sri Lanka to bowl first as he felt that would enable his side to know exactly what they needed to do to win.

Angelo Mathews said he would have batted had he won so he was happy, and so were Sri Lanka as Mahela Jayawardene (84 not out), Lahiru Thirimanne (57) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (34) all made telling contributions.

Mitchell Johnson grabbed figures of three for 48 but Dinesh Chandimal added a quickfire 31 late on to see Sri Lanka past the 250-mark and leave Australia needing to perform exceptionally well to stay in the competition.

Already missing Michael Clark (injury) and David Warner (suspension) they could have done without Shane Watson departing early, bowled by Kulasekara.

Phillip Hughes made 13 in 10 balls and Glenn Maxwell, promoted to number three, struck some firm blows in making 32 in 20 before a dawdling Bailey was run out by the irrepressible Kulasekara.

Adam Voges then held one end together as he invited other batsmen to hit out at the other end as Australia continued to try for a target that was figuratively drifting further and further away from them, Matthew Wade thumping 31 in 23 balls and James Faulkner 17 in 14 before they passed the point of no return, the 30th over, still well short.

Shortly afterwards, Voges fell for 49 in 62 balls which left the final pair of McKay and Doherty and although they calmly added runs to take Australia close to clinching an unlikely win, they had been left with too much to do.

Nevertheless, it took a briliant catch from Dilshan to remove McKay off his bowling to finally see off Australia's dogged resistance.

Video from SNTV

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia