< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka Through After Thunderstorm

Lasith Malinga bowls
Lasith Malinga (right) took two wickets before Sri Lanka won the game on the Duckworth/Lewis method
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka 160-6 (Thirimanne 44) beat
West Indies 80-4 (Malinga 2-5) by 27 runs (D/L)
ICC World Twenty20 2014 semi-final, Mirpur

Sri Lanka beat the West Indies by 27 runs on the Duckworth/Lewis method after the first ICC World Twenty20 semi-final was curtailed due to rain and hail.

At the Sher-e-Bangla stadium, the West Indies were placed at 80 for four in 13.5 overs when a severe storm arrived to blow them out of the tournament.

They were chasing Sri Lanka’s score of 160 for six.

India will play South Africa in the second semi-final tomorrow (4th April).

Sri Lanka have now become the first team to make it to three ICC World Twenty20 finals after previous appearances in 2009 and 2012.

Coverage in association with Clarus XC

Chris Gayle and Dwayne Smith started quickly, targeting the medium pacers for as many runs as possible before the spinners were deployed. They took 20 runs off the first two overs, before things slowed down a bit thereafter. Skipper Lasith Malinga (2-5) came on to bowl then in the fifth over and provided a double breakthrough for his team.

Gayle (3) was the first to go, while four balls later, Smith (17) followed him back to the dug-out. Suddenly the runs stopped coming and the pressure grew on the West Indies. Spin was duly introduced in the seventh over, and then off the first ball in the eighth, Seekkuge Prasanna (1-15) removed Lendl Simmons (4).

Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Bravo then added 43 runs for the fourth wicket, taking the score past the 50-run mark in the 10th over.

As the asking rate started climbing, Bravo took some risks and it paid off for a bit, but eventually he holed out after making 30 runs off 19 balls, with three fours and one six.

Three balls later the rain arrived, followed by a severe hailstorm that left the ground unfit for resumption of play. Samuels was unbeaten on 18, off 29 balls with one four while Nuwan Kulasekara (1-22) was the other wicket-taker.

Earlier, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first. Openers Kushal Perera and Tillakaratne Dilshan were off to a very quick start, putting on 41 runs in the first four overs.

But they also did lose the former off the last ball therein, bowled by Krishmar Santokie (2-46), after scoring 26 runs off 12 balls with two fours and two sixes.

Dilshan then ran out Mahela Jayawardene (0) for a diamond duck and Sri Lanka’s troubles were compounded when Kumar Sangakkara (1) returned a simple catch to Samuel Badree (1-23).

But then 42 runs were put between Dilshan and Lahiru Thirimanne as the 50-run mark came up in the seventh over.

They brought some stability to the scoring even though Dilshan was struggling with his strike-rate and eventually fell the same way Jayawardene did. He was run-out after scoring a run-a-ball 39, with two fours and one six.

Angelo Mathews then joined Thirimanne and they put on 30 runs, taking the score past the 100-run mark in the 15th over.

The latter was next out in the 17th over, after scoring 44 runs off 35 balls with three fours and two sixes. Mathews then provided the finishing touch, taking the score past the 150-run mark in the final over, making 40 runs off 23 balls with three fours and two sixes, before getting out on the last ball of the innings. Andre Russell (1-37) was the other wicket-taker.

© Cricket World 2014