< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka tour of South Africa 2020-21: Full squads, Fixtures & Preview: All you need to know

Sri Lanka's  Angelo Mathews
Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews

After the ODI series between the Proteas and England fell prey to a faulty bio-bubble in South Africa, there were some doubts over Sri Lanka's two-match test tour to the country, which have been put to bed.


Live Scores and Stats - Sri Lanka Tour of South Africa

Fortunately, the Sri Lankan board decided to honour the commitments made under the FTP after an assessment conducted by the SLC Medical Unit headed by Professor Arjuna De Silva, who advised SLC to proceed with the series.

The Sri Lankan team will leave for South Africa as scheduled while head coach Mickey Arthur, accompanied by a health specialist, was tasked with the responsibility to assess the situation and make necessary arrangements for the team's arrival.

Upon arrival, the Sri Lankan squad will be part of a 3-day practice match against South African Invitation XI from Dec 20, Sun to Dec 22, Tue.

The first test of the two-match series, part of the WTC, begins on Dec 26 at the SuperSport Park in Centurion. The New Year test will be played from Jan 03, Sun to Jan 07, Thu at The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

Kagiso Rabada has not recovered from a groin injury in time to be part of the test series. As a result, South Africa have called up uncapped Migael Pretorius for the Sri Lanka tests.

The visitors will be without their leading batsman Angelo Mathews, who is recovering from a hamstring injury which he picked up during the Lanka Premier League. Five uncapped players Wanindu Hasaranga, Minod Bhanuka, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka and Santhush Gunathilaka have been named in the 22-member squad.


 Here's the squad of both teams:


South Africa - Quinton de Kock (c), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Beuran Hendricks, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Sarel Erwee, Anrich Nortje, Glenton Stuurman, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Kyle Verreynne, Migael Pretorius

Sri Lanka - Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Lasith Embuldeniya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Dasun Shanaka, Santhush Gunathilake, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka


Let's have a look at the schedule of the tour:


Dec 26, Sat - Dec 30, Wed

South Africa vs Sri Lanka, 1st Test

SuperSport Park, Centurion

08:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM LOCAL


Jan 03, Sun - Jan 07, Thu

South Africa vs Sri Lanka, 2nd Test

The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

08:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM LOCAL


© Cricket World 2020