< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka Unchanged For Final ODI

Angelo Mathews, Sri Lanka captain
Angelo Mathews and his side face a tough test as they try to level their ODI series against New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka have named an unchanged 16-man squad for the third and final One-Day International against New Zealand in Dambulla.

The opening match was washed out due to rain in Hambantota before New Zealand produced a remarkable late charge to score 32 runs in the final two overs to win a rain-shortened second match.

As the series moves on to Dambulla for the final game tomorrow (16th November), Sri Lanka need to win to tie the series and will pick from the same set of players that made a promising start to the series.

In the opening match, they scored 288 for nine thanks to half-centuries from Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews, only for rain to end the match 4.2 overs into New Zealand's reply.

Dilshan and Sangakkara were in the runs again in the second match as Sri Lanka posted 138 for one in 23 overs before failing to defend an adjusted target of 198.

Following the final ODI, the two sides will play a brace of Twenty20 Internationals in Pallekele on 19th and 21st November.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Dimuth Karunaratne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Kushal Perera, Thisara Perera, Ashan Priyanjan, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne

© Cricket World 2013