< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka vs England 2nd Test: England fight back against Sri Lanka on Day 2

Jimmy Anderson (6-40)
Jimmy Anderson (6-40)

Another hard-fought day of Test cricket in Galle saw England close the day trailing Sri Lanka by 283 runs.


Match Summary

Sri Lanka 381/10 (139.3 ov)

England *98/2 (30 ov)

Day 2 - Stumps England trail by 284 runs.




Sri Lanka scored another 152 runs today, posting 381 in their 1st Innings, mainly thanks to Niroshan Dickwella, who hit an impressive 92 and Dilruwan Perera who scored 67. Jimmy Anderson (6-40) was outstanding for England, well supported by Mark Wood (3-84).

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Kusal Perera - 4.1 ov), 2-7 (Oshada Fernando - 4.5 ov), 3-76 (Lahiru Thirimanne - 26.2 ov), 4-193 (Dinesh Chandimal - 68.6 ov), 5-232 (Angelo Mathews - 88.6 ov), 6-243 (Ramesh Mendis - 91.6 ov), 7-332 (Niroshan Dickwella - 120.4 ov), 8-332 (Suranga Lakmal - 120.6 ov), 9-364 (Lasith Embuldeniya - 132.6 ov), 10-381 (Dilruwan Perera - 139.3 ov)


England got off to a terrible start losing both openers early on Zak Crawley and Dominic Sibley and were 5-2 at one stage.

However, Joe Root 67* (hitting his 50th Test half century) and Jonny Baistow 24* took England to close of play, on day 2, without any further loss of wickets – setting up a great third day to look forward to for both sets of fans, in Galle.

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Dom Sibley - 5.2 ov), 2-5 (Zak Crawley - 7.1 ov)



Playing XIs

Sri Lanka - Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella(wk), Ramesh Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Asitha Fernando

England - Zak Crawley, Dominic Sibley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root(c), Dan Lawrence, Jos Buttler(wk), Sam Curran, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, Mark Wood, James Anderson


Match Details

Start Time: 04:30

Toss: Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Galle International Stadium, Galle

Officials: Handunnettige Dharmasena, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Lyndon Hannibal, Raja Wimalasiri, Ranjan Madugalle


©Cricket World 2021