< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lanka vs India, 1st ODI: Dhawan, Kishan and bowlers set up India's strong start

India registered a comprehensive seven wicket win over Sri Lanka in the first One-Day International (ODI) to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series on Sunday.

At the R Premadasa Stadium, Sri Lanka opted to bat and psoted 262 for nine in their 50 overs. In response, India overhauled the target in 36.4 overs with seven wickets to spare to finish on 263 for three.

Earlier, Sri Lanka, had useful all-round contributions to their total, but not one of the batsman made a major contribution The top-scorer for Sri Lanka was Chamika Karunaratne with an unbeaten 43 off 35 balls. There were other useful efforts by Avishka Fernando (33), Charith Asalanka (38) and captain Dasun Shanaka (39). In the last five overs Sri Lanka posted 52 runs. For India the wicket-takers were Deepak Chahar (2-37), Yuzvendra Chahal (2-52) and Kuldeep Yadav (2-48).

The chase for India was fashioned by skipper Shikhar Dhawan (86 n.o.: 95b, 6x4, 1x6). Debutant Ishan Kishan made a brisk 59 off 42 balls with eight boundaries two sixes. Kishan and Dhawan added 85 runs for the second wicket. Opener Prithvi Shaw made a swift 43 off 24 balls with nine boundaries to set the pace for the chase. Later, Dhawan shared a 72 run stand with Manish Pandey (26). The other debutant Suryakumar Yadav finished unbeaten on 31 to seal the chase.

Match Summary

Sri Lanka 262-9 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Avishka Fernando-9.1 ov), 2-85 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa-16.1 ov), 3-89 (Minod Bhanuka-16.4 ov), 4-117 (Dhananjaya de Silva-24.4 ov), 5-166 (Charith Asalanka-37.2 ov), 6-186 (Wanindu Hasaranga-39.3 ov), 7-205 (Dasun Shanaka-43.5 ov), 8-222 (Isuru Udana-46.5 ov), 9-262 (Dushmantha Chameera-49.6 ov)

India 263-3 (36.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-58 (Prithvi Shaw-5.3 ov), 2-143 (Ishan Kishan-17.5 ov), 3-215 (Manish Pandey-30.4 ov)

Result: India won by seven wickets


Playing XI
India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Lakshan Sandakan, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Karunaratne

Match Details
Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to bat
Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
Start time: 1500 hrs (Sri Lanka time)
Match officials: Kumar Dharmasena, Raveendra Wimalsari (On-field umpires); Ruchira Palliyaguruge (TV Umpire); Lyndon Hannibal (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match referee)