Sri Lanka Wrap Up 57-Run Win Over Worcestershire

Sri Lanka Wrap Up 57-Run Win Over Worcestershire
Sri Lanka Wrap Up 57-Run Win Over Worcestershire
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte (SRI LANKA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lankans 351-5 (Mendis 99no, Mathews 81) beat
Worcestershire 294 (Ali 136, Malinga 3-25) by 57 runs
One-day tour game, New Road

Jeevan Mendis thumped an unbeaten 99 and namesake Ajantha then took three wickets - as did Lasith Malinga - as Sri Lanka beat Worcestershire by 57 runs in a one-day tour game at New Road.

Belligerent batting blasted the tourists to 351 for five before Worcestershire, propelled by a century from Moeen Ali, fought hard before eventually being dismissed for 294 in reply.

All-rounder Mendis smacked 11 fours and three sixes in an entertaining 71-ball innings while Angelo Mathews, making his first appearance since exiting the World Cup due to injury, made 81 in 90 balls.

There was also a half-century for 41-year-old Sanath Jayasuriya, who rolled back the years to stroke 78 in 60 deliveries - with ten fours and three sixes - to set the scene for the run glut that was to come.

Pick of the bowlers for Worcestershire was Pakistan international Saeed Ajmal, who returned three for 42 having only recently been cleared to play for the Pears following visa problems.

In reply, Ali compiled a masterful 136 in just 90 balls, helping himself to 16 fours and three sixes as he laid the platform for Worcestershire to give Sri Lanka a real fright.

Alexei Kervezee offered excellent support with 45 in 31 balls, James Cameron thumpde 65 in 69 and captain Daryl Mitchell made 21 but in the end their target proved to be too great.

Fast bowler Malinga dismissed Jack Manuel for four, Chris Whelan for one and Matthew Mason for nought to return three for 25.

Ajantha Mendis returned three for 68 as Sri Lanka completed victory in their only warm-up game ahead of the one-off Twenty20 International in Bristol on 25th June and the five-match One-Day International series that begins on 28th June.

© Cricket World 2011