< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sri Lankan team flies to West Indies with the hope of creating history

Dinesh Chandimal and his Sri Lankan team flies to West Indies

The Sri Lankan Team led by skipper Dinesh Chandimal has flown to West Indies for a three-match Test series with the hope of creating history.

The Sri Lankan team is going through a long and tough phase of transition after the retirement of two greats of the game- Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene. However, finally there seems to be light at the end of the tunnel for the side as the state of affairs has improved over the past four to five months.

The team has won the tri-series involving Zimbabwe and Bangladesh and the Test and the T20I series against Bangladesh. Although, the Lankans failed to make the finals of the Nidahas Trophy tri-series, they have been doing decently well in the recent past.

When Sri Lanka would set foot on the Queens Park Oval in Port of Spain on the 6th June for the 1st Test of the three-match Test series against West Indies, a lot would be at stake for them. The side has not played a Test series in the Caribbean in ten years and Captain Dinesh Chandimal will have a lot of responsibility on his shoulders.

Before boarding the flight to West Indies, Chandimal said: "You know, we have heard great stories about how West Indies dominated world cricket for decades and most Sri Lankans looked up to the great West Indies sides in our formative years. It is a good opportunity for us to go there, compete and win a series. We are all looking forward to the challenge. West Indies will be playing in their home conditions and we need to stick to our strengths and game plans.

Overall we have struggled a bit, but our Test cricket is in a good shape at the moment. It was a big achievement to end Pakistan's unbeaten run in UAE last year. It was a very competitive series. Every individual in the team has contributed for the success and we need to maintain that."

16-member Sri Lankan squad

Dinesh Chandimal(C), Mahela Udawatte, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Roshen Silva, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara and Asitha Fernando

©  Cricket World

Sri Lanka tour of West Indies 2018