< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Stafanie Taylor selected to lead team of the ICC Women's World T20

Stafanie Taylor selected to lead team of the ICC Women's World T20
Stafanie Taylor has scored 246 runs from six games and has also picked eight wickets.
©REUTERS / Action Images

After having led West Indies Women to victory in the 2016 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 on Sunday, Stafanie Taylor has been picked as the captain of the team of the tournament.

The team of the ICC Women’s World T20 was announced in a media release by Geoff Allardice, the ICC General Manager – Cricket, who was also the chairman of the selection panel.

Taylor was earlier named as the player of the tournament for having scored 246 runs from six games while also picking up eight wickets in the tournament.

Deandra Dottin, Sophie Devine and Leigh Kasperek, all of whom are the leading wicket-takers with nine scalps apiece have been picked in the side.

Suzie Bates of New Zealand, Charlotte Edwards of England and Meg Lanning of Australia form the top order, whereas Rachel Priest has picked as the wicket-keeper.

Edwards, Lanning and Bates form the rest of the top four run scorers of the tournament apart from Taylor with 202, 201 and 183 runs each respectively.

Anya Shrubsole, Sune Luus and Megan Schutt fill the rest of the bowling attack while Pakistan’s Anam Amin has been named as the 12th player.

Former Australian cricketers Mel Jones and Lisa Sthalekar were joined by Ian Bishop, Nasser Hussain and Sanjay Manjrekar in the panel to select the teams of the tournament.

© Cricket World 2016