< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Steve Smith named marquee player for Global T20 Canada tournament

Steve Smith
©REUTERS/Mike Hutchings

Former Australian Captain Steve Smith has been named a marquee player for the Canada T20 League which is scheduled to be held from June 28 June to 16 July.

The six-team tournament will mark Steve Smith’s return to the cricket field for the first time after his suspension. Smith has been named as one of the marquee players among others like Shahid Afridi, David Miller, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Darren Sammy and Lasith Malinga.

In a bid to further popularize cricket in the nation, Cricket Canada has come up with a 22-match long tournament. Six teams will take part in the league namely Caribbean All-Stars, Toronto Nationals, Montreal Tigers, Ottawa Royals, Vancouver Knights and Winnipeg Hawks.

Following the pattern of the marquee cricketers, several marquee coaches have also been named which include the likes of Phil Simmons,

After the trio of Steve Smith, David Waner and Cameron Bancroft were banned from international cricket, state cricket and the Big Bash League, all of them have opted to play elsewhere.

While Bancroft will take part in Western Australia's Premier Cricket league, Warner will feature for his club in Sydney named Randwick Petersham.

® Cricket World

Official Cricket Australia Website