< >
Cricket Betting us

Steven Smith bags Allan Border Medal

Steven Smith had a fantastic year of Test cricket
Steven Smith had a fantastic year of Test cricket

Australia captain Steven Smith went on to the claim the highest honour at Allan Border Medal night on Monday.

Smith, who had a fabulous year piled up 1305 runs at an average of 81.56 during the voting period that saw him win the Test Player of the Year Award and also led his team to a home Ashes series victory as well.

His performances also saw him claim 246 votes to win the Allan Border Medal for the second time and joins his deputy captain David Warner and all-rounder Shane Watson in the list led by Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke, who have four apiece.

Smith had an 84 vote lead of second-placed Warner, who claimed the ODI Player of the Year Award while the third in the list was off-spinner Nathan Lyon with 156 votes. Pace bowlers Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood made the fourth and fifth places with 111 and 72 votes respectively.

Meanwhile, Aaron Finch bagged the T20I player of the year after ending the voting period as the leading run-getter for Australia while Jhye Richardson was announced as the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year. The 21-year-old has also been selected in Australia's Test squad that will make a visit to South Africa this year.

All-rounder Ellyse Perry went on to win the Belinda Clark Award for the second time since 2016 and went on to claim 116 votes with second on the list is Beth Mooney with 78 votes.

© Cricket World 2018