< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Steven Smith wins top honours in ICC Awards

Steven Smith wins top honours in ICC Awards
Steven Smith won both the ICC cricketer of the year award as well as the Test cricketer of the year award.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australian captain Steven Smith has won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after he was named the International Cricket Council (ICC) cricketer of the year 2015.

Smith, who was also named as the ICC Test cricketer of the year becomes the fourth Australian to be crowned as the cricketer of the year.

During the voting period between 18th September 2014 to 13th September 2015, Smith scored 1734 runs from 25 Test innings including seven hundreds and six fifties at an average of 82.57.

In the One-Day International format, Smith amassed 1249 runs with four hundreds and eight fifties from 26 matches while being the part of Australia's victorious 2015 Cricket World Cup campaign.

South Africa's AB de Villiers has taken home the ICC ODI cricketer of the year award for the second consecutive year.

De Villiers, who was earlier named as the captain of the ICC ODI team of the year has scored 1265 runs from 20 innings in the fifty-over format during the qualifying period.

Faf du Plessis picked the ICC Twenty20 International performance of the year for scoring a 56-ball 119 against West Indies in January 2015.

Australia's women's team captain Meg Lanning was awarded the ICC Women's ODI cricketer of the year award for her tally of 531 runs in seven ODIs in the voting period.

West Indies women’s team skipper Stafanie Taylor took home her first ever ICC Women's T20I cricketer of the year award with a total of 340 runs in nine matches.

Australia’s fast-bowler Josh Hazlewood was named as the ICC emerging cricketer of the year after having accounted for 40 wickets from just nine Tests during the voting period.

Hazlewood was also a part of Australia’s 2015 Cricket World Cup victory and becomes the third Australian to win the emerging player of the year award.

Former captain of the United Arab Emirates, Khurram Khan has been awarded the ICC associate and affiliate cricketer of the year.

New Zealand’s skipper Brendon McCullum, who recently announced his plan to retire in February 2016 was presented with the ICC spirit of the cricket award.

For a third consecutive time, Richard Kettleborough won the David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC umpire of the year, becoming the third official after Simon Taufel and Aleem Dar to achieve a hat-trick of awards. 

ICC Awards Winners

ICC Cricketer of the Year - Steven Smith (Australia)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Steven Smith (Australia)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers (South Africa)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning (Australia)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

ICC T20I Performance of the Year – Faf du Plessis (South Africa)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Josh Hazlewood (Australia)

ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Khurram Khan (UAE)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)

ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough

© Cricket World 2015