< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Strauss Leads, Bell And Yardy In England ODI Squad

Strauss Leads, Bell And Yardy In England ODI Squad
Strauss, Bell, And Yardy In England ODI Squad
©Action Images / Jason Cairnduff

Batsman Andrew Strauss will return to the England One-Day International squad as captain for the five-match series against Australia and a one-off game against Scotland later this month.

He was named to lead a 13-man squad that sees Warwickshire batsman Ian Bell and Sussex skipper Michael Yardy handed ODI recalls.

Strauss's inclusion, along with hard-hitting wicket-keeper Craig Kieswetter means that Alastair Cook, who led the side in Strauss's absence in Bangladesh, and Matthew Prior, are not included in the squad and there is no place either for Ravi Bopara, Ajmal Shahzad or James Tredwell, who were all part of England's winning ICC World Twenty20 squad.

Bell's recall comes after a century in the second Test against Bangladesh and strong early-season form in limited-overs cricket for Warwickshire and Yardy, who offers a second spin option alongside Graeme Swann, has been impressive for Sussex.

“We have named a slightly smaller squad for this summer’s NatWest Series than in previous years as our own programme closely mirrors the England Lions’ schedule for their triangular series against India ‘A’ and West Indies ‘A’," national selector Geoff Miller said.

“We will draw on additional players from the Lions squad if required and will also consider using the Lions programme to give non playing members of the One-Day squad match practice where appropriate. At this stage, it is our intention to announce the Lions squad shortly before our first NatWest Series fixture against Australia.

“Craig Kieswetter made a century in only his third One-Day International on the tour of Bangladesh and continued to impress during the World T20 tournament in the Caribbean. He has been earmarked for a role at the top of the order and I am sure he will be relishing the opportunity to test himself against high quality opposition.

“We are also pleased to welcome back Ian Bell to the One-Day squad. He has performed well for Warwickshire this season in limited overs cricket and worked hard to add a more positive, attacking approach to his game in the 50-Over format.

“Michael Yardy’s inclusion is a reward for performing consistently to a high level in the World T20 in the Caribbean and also reflects our longer term planning for a World Cup in the Indian sub-continent next year in which spin bowling will be a major feature."

England play Scotland in Edinburgh on 19th June before the ODI series with Australia begins on 22nd June at The Rose Bowl.

England ODI squad: Andrew Strauss (captain), James Anderson, Tim Bresnan, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy

© Cricket World 2010