< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Strikers complete their first ever rebel WBBL win over the Sydney Sixers

Strikers complete their first ever rebel WBBL win over the Sydney Sixers
Strikers complete their first ever rebel WBBL win over the Sydney Sixers
©WBBL Cricket Australia

A formidable Adelaide Strikers bowling attack, featuring Player of the Match Sarah Coyte, has given the Strikers their first ever rebel WBBL win over the Sydney Sixers.

The Sixers went into Saturday's match after four straight losses and without captain Ellyse Perry, who is sidelined due to a shoulder injury.

The Strikers lost the toss, with stand-in Sixers captain Alyssa Healy electing to bat first.

Two early wickets inside the first three overs from Megan Schutt (2/12) had the Sixers reeling with the loss of Healy (duck) and Ashleigh Gardner (1).

Coyte was economical and effective, taking 3/9 in four overs, removing Marizanne Kapp (20), Hollie Armitage (11) and Hayley Silver-Holmes (1).

Tahlia McGrath was also excellent with the ball, nabbing 2/19 and completing a run out.

Sydney struggled to find gaps in the field, compiling just five boundaries between the entire batting lineup and finishing their 20 overs at 9/93.

[mpu-2]In reply, captain Suzie Bates went early for one, but a 71-run partnership between McGrath (30) and Sophie Devine (46 not out) had Adelaide back on track.

Bridget Patterson replaced McGrath when she was caught and struck an unbeaten 11 to help her side over the line in the 16th over, just two wickets down.

The Strikers have won six matches in a row and have now moved into first place on the WBBL ladder, with a win tomorrow securing a home final.

The team will take on the Sydney Sixers again tomorrow at Hurstville Oval from 1:30pm ACDT. The match can be live-streamed on cricket.com.au, the CA Live app and Kayo.

Match Details

Sydney Sixers - Erin Burns , Alyssa Healy(c)(wk), Ashleigh Gardner, Hollie Armitage, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk, Lauren Smith, Sarah Aley, Jodie Hicks, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Stella Campbell

Adelaide Strikers - Suzie Bates(c), Sophie Devine, Tahlia McGrath, Bridget Patterson, Lauren Winfield, Katie Mack, Tegan McPharlin(wk), Amanda Wellington, Sarah Coyte, Alex Price, Megan Schutt

Start Time: 03:00

Toss: Sydney Sixers Women won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Hurstville Oval, Sydney

Officials: Roberto Howard, Marc Nickl, David Gilbert

©Cricket World 2019