< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Strikers name squad to face Sixers in rebel WBBL

©Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers are playing for minor-round championship honours and a home finals series, sticking with the same 13-player squad to take on the Sydney Sixers this weekend.

The team that finishes on top of the rebel WBBL ladder will be given the opportunity to host both semi-finals and the final, with two wins this weekend at Hurstville Oval securing hosting duties for Adelaide.

The Sixers however, are the only team the Strikers have not beaten since the inception of the WBBL competition.

The Sixers have lost four matches in a row, while the Strikers are in franchise-best form with five consecutive victories - something the side has never achieved previously.

With momentum on its side, Adelaide will head into Saturday's match with confidence, however the last three times the sides have met at Hurstville, Alyssa Healy has struck scores of 106, 63 and 112 not out.

"To beat the Sixers...I think we can," leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington said.

"The key for us will be getting Alyssa Healy out pretty early and cheaply. I know the last few games (against us) she's hit a few 100s and 50s...hopefully someone like Megan Schutt or Sophie Devine will play a big role for us this weekend."

Yet to confirm whether captain Ellyse Perry will return from injury this weekend, the Sixers are searching for two wins to secure a finals berth. If they are unable to finish in the top four, it will be the first time the side has missed finals.

The Strikers sit second on the WBBL table with an 9-3 record behind only the Brisbane Heat by net run rate.

Both matches this weekend will be streamed on Kayo, cricket.com.au and the CA Live smartphone app.

Adelaide Strikers squad v Sixers

Suzie Bates (c)

Ellie Falconer

Sarah Coyte

Sophie Devine

Katie Mack

Tahlia McGrath

Tegan McPharlin

Annie O’Neil

Bridget Patterson

Alex Price

Megan Schutt

Amanda-Jade Wellington

Lauren Winfield