< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sunil Narine muscles Montreal Tigers to win over Winnipeg Hawks with his weaker suit

The Montreal Tigers pull off a 24-run win against the Winnipeg Hawks
The Montreal Tigers pull off a 24-run win against the Winnipeg Hawks

A rain delay led the match to be curtailed to 12 over per side, with Montreal Tigers prevailing comfortably.

Match Summary

Montreal Tigers 135-3

Winnipeg Hawks 111-5

Montreal Tigers won by 24 runs (12 overs/side)

You might still consider Sunil Narine a mystery spinner, but things have changed since his revamped action. He is not even half a threat with the ball now as he used to be, but Narine has refined his batting skills in the powerplay to remain relevant in the T20 circuit.

Narine, along with Kyle Coetzer, gave an explosive start to the Tigers, who crossed the hundred-run mark in the ninth over. Anton Devcich did not help the cause of Winnipeg Hawks further with 23-ball 40-run knock at one drop.

Amid all Hawks' bowlers going for runs, Dwayne Bravo was the only shining light as he gave away only 16 runs from his three overs, while also picking up the important wicket of Coetzer.

Winnipeg Hawks opener Dwayne Smith started a bit sluggishly with just nine runs off 12 balls, but Umar Akmal and JP Duminy then upped the ante. While Akmal just fell short of his half-century by one run, Duminy scored a 14-ball 30 at a strike rate of well over 200.

However, the required run rate was just out of the Hawks' reach. Matters were not made any easier by the Australian quick Sean Abbott who was right on the money and did not allow the Winnipeg batsmen any room to free their arms. As a result, after the end of the stipulated 12 overs, the Hawks fell short by 24 runs.

Montreal Tigers- Sunil Narine, Kyle Coetzer, Anton Devcich, George Bailey, Bupinder Singh, Matthew Cross, Mohammad Naveed, Nikhil Dutta, Fawad Ahmed, Dillon Heyliger, Sean Abbott

Winnipeg Hawks- Dwayne Smith, Sunny Sohal, Umar Akmal, Hamza Tariq, Jean-Paul Duminy, Dwayne Bravo, Rayad Emrit, Paul van Meekeren, Shaiman Anwar, Kaleem Sana, Umair Ghani

©Cricket World 2019