< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
 

Super Smash 2021-22: Full squads, Fixtures & Preview: All you need to know

James Neesham in action
James Neesham in action
©REUTERS
 

All you need to know about the 17th edition of New Zealand's top-drawer domestic T20 competition, Super Smash 2021-22, comprising 32 matches.

Two things happen at the time of Christmas, goodies come home and the Super Smash returns. The League has been scheduled with 32 T20s, set to be played over a period of close to two months.

The league commences on November 26 and will go on till January 29.

As always, six teams - Auckland Aces, Canterbury Kings, Central Stags, Northern Knights, Otago Volts and Wellington Firebirds - will take part in the tournament in a double round robin format in the league stage. It implies that each team will play every other team twice in the group stage which adds up to a total of 10 matches per side.

The top three teams from the leaderboard will advance to the playoffs consisting of the Elimination final and the final.

A big disadvantage for Super Smash is that due to the international fixtures of New Zealand clashing with the tournament, many of their top players will not be able to feature in the first few games.

The tournament kicks off with the encounter between Canterbury and Wellington at Hagley Oval, Christchurch on November 26.

Squads

Northern Knights - Anton Devcich (Captain), Katene Clarke, Dean Brownlie, Henry Cooper, Brett Hampton, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Seifert, Brett Randell, Joe Walker, Frederick Walker, Matthew Fisher, Zak Gibson.

Otago - Neil Broom, Anaru Kitchen, Hamish Rutherford, Dale Philips, Llew Johnson, Nick Kelly, Josh Finnie, Jacob Duffy, Mitch Renwick, Michael Rippon, Mitchell McClenaghan, Travis Muller, Matthew Bacon.

Wellington - Michael Bracewell (Captain), Fraser Colson, Troy Johnson, Jamie Gibson, Rachin Ravindra, James Neesham, Logan can Beek, Finn Allen, Lauchie Johns, Devon Conway, Hamish Bennett, Ian McPeake, Peter Younhusband, Michael Snedden.

Auckland - Robert ODonnell (Captain), William O'Donnell, Sean Solia, Graeme Beghin, Ben Horne, Olly Pringle, Ben Lister, Willian Somerville, Bradley Rodden, Glenn Philips, Danru Ferns, Ryan Harrison, Ross ter Braak

Canterbury - Cole McConchie (Captain), Jack Boyle, Leo Carter, Ken McClure, Chad Bowes, Sean Davey, Todd Astle, Matthew Hay, Ed Nuttall, Cam Fletcher, Will Williams, Matt Henry

Central Districts - Tom Bruce (Captain), Josh Clarkson, Jayden Lennox, George Worker, Dane Cleaver, Bayley Wiggins, Doug Bracewell, Christian Leopard, Kieran Neoma-Barnett, Ajaz Patel, Blair Tickner, Joey Field.

Fixtures (IST)

Date, Day

Match

Venue

Time

November 26, Friday

Canterbury vs Wellington

Christchurch

11:10 AM

November 27, Saturday

Auckland vs Northern Knights 

TBD

6:10 AM

November 28, Sunday

Otago vs Central Districts

Dunedin

6:10 AM

December 3, Friday

Northern Knights vs Otago

Hamilton

11:10 AM

December 4, Saturday

Canterbury vs Auckland

Christchurch

6:10 AM

December 5, Sunday

Wellington vs Central Districts

Wellington

7:10 AM

December 10, Friday

Canterbury vs Central Districts

Christchurch

11:10 AM

December 11, Saturday

TBD

TBD

6:10 AM

December 12, Sunday

Otago vs Northern Knights

Dunedin

6:10 AM

December 17, Friday

Northern Knights vs Auckland

Hamilton

11:10 AM

December 18, Saturday

Central Districts vs Otago

Napier

7:10 AM

December 19, Sunday

Wellington vs Canterbury

Wellington

6:10 AM

December 23, Thursday

Northern Knights vs Canterbury

Mount Maunganui

11:10 AM

December 24, Friday

Wellington vs Auckland

Wellington

7:10 AM

December 26, Sunday

Canterbury vs Otago

Christchurch

10:10 AM

December 27, Monday

Central Districts vs Auckland

Palmerston North

7:10 AM

December 28, Tuesday

Otago vs Wellington

Queenstown

7:10 AM

December 29, Wednesday

Otago vs Auckland

Queenstown

7:10 AM

December 30, Thursday

Central Districts vs Northern Knights

New Plymouth

7:10 AM

December 31, Friday

Central Districts vs Canterbury

New Plymouth

7:10 AM

January 6, Thursday

Wellington vs Otago

Wellington

7:10 AM

January 7, Friday

Auckland vs Canterbury

TBD

7:10 AM

January 8, Saturday

Central Districts vs Wellington

New Plymouth

6:10 AM

January 14, Friday

Northern Knights vs Central Districts

Mount Maunganui

11:10 AM

January 15, Saturday

Auckland vs Otago

TBD

7:10 AM

January 16, Sunday

Northern Knights vs Wellington

Whangarei

6:10 AM

January 21, Friday

Canterbury vs Northern Knights

Christchurch

11:10 AM

January 22, Saturday

Auckland vs Central Districts

TBD

6:10 AM

January 23, Sunday

Otago vs Canterbury

Dunedin

6:10 AM

January 24, Monday

Wellington vs Northern Knights

Wellington

7:10 AM

January 27, Thursday

Eliminator Final

TBD

5:30 AM

January 29, Friday

Final 

TBD

5:30 AM

© Cricket World 2021