Sussex Announce Academy Intake

Sussex will welcome seven new players into their programme for the 2014 season while five players will remain with the club for a second year.

The Sussex Academy is a combined programme run by the England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Sussex County Cricket Club.

The five players who have retained their places from last season are Leo Cammish, Josh Hayward, Elliott Cooper, Fynn Hudson-Prentice and Ben Shoare.

They are joined by new faces Izzy Collis, Freya Davies, George Garton, Tom Haines, Beck Hemingway, Phil Salt and Paige Scholfield.

15-year-old Haines is the youngest of the new players while for the first time three girls have been included in the intake - reflective of Sussex's success last season and the growing popularity of women's cricket in the UK.

Collis and Davies also played for England Under-19s this winter.

All five of the players who are staying on for a second year represented Sussex's second team in 2013 and will hope to make further progress.

"We are excited by the addition of so many new players to the group and very much looking forward to welcoming them on to the programme," Keith Greenfield, Performance Manager and Academy Director Keith Greenfield said.

"We’re looking forward to continuing the hard work with those players who will be undertaking their second year. All of them had a role to play in the Second Eleven last season and we hope they will again progress this year.  

"This is also the first time that three girls have been selected which goes to show the strength of the women’s game in Sussex."

© Cricket World 2014

Related Articles


Suggested Topics

Official Sussex CCC Website