< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Swardeston Cricket Club

Address: The Common, Brownes Lane, Swardeston, Norwich, Norfolk. NR148UG

Facebook: Click Here

Website: Click Here

Based just south of Norwich, Swardeston - one of East Anglia's leading cricket clubs - can trace its history back over 150 years and now runs four Saturday sides and two Sunday teams.

The club also has a thriving youth section with six teams at Under-19, Under-15, Under-13, Under-11 and Under-9 level playing under the Swardeston CEYMS name, following the club’s long-standing partnership with the Norwich charitable organisation. The 2014 season saw a girls section introduced.

News & Articles

Swardeston's 1st XI plays in the ECB Gibbs Denley East Anglian Premier League and has celebrated six title-winning seasons in nine years.

The last four summers has seen Swardeston become champions in successive years 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 - a new league record.

The club’s remaining three teams play in the Dipple & Conway Norfolk Cricket Alliance.

2010 saw Swardeston achieve glory on the national stage - winning the ECB Cockspur T20 competition under lights and the live Sky cameras at the Rose Bowl.

In 2005 Swardeston was one of the first clubs in Norfolk to achieve the ECB's ClubMark accreditation.

The club takes enormous pride in the development of its young players.

One of them, Callum Taylor, now contracted with Essex CCC, was part of the England U19 side which drew the series with Australia during the 2015 summer. Another former Swardeston player is Northamptonshire’s Rob Newton.

Swardeston run weekly youth cricket sessions during the summer at it’s two grounds in the village - The Common and Hilltops - and offer high quality coaching to all children that attend. The 2015 season also saw it send its coaches into three junior schools and one high school.

The club has a thriving social scene with annual stag dinner, club dinner, barbeque and race night. The club also has it's own bar that is open after every game.


1852 - Mulbarton and Swardeston CC was established in Mulbarton, a neighbouring village to Swardeston. Thought to be one of two oldest in Norfolk. 

1924/25 - Club wins the Norfolk Junior Cup in successive years and the club name is inscribed on the trophy.

1964 - Club moved to play its games to Swardeston Common after the common was cleared and a cricket pitch constructed.

1974 - Club drops Mulbarton part of name to become just Swardeston CC.

1975 - Club reaches last eight of the national Haig Village Cup.

1976 - Club leaves Norfolk Cricket League to join the expanding Norfolk Cricket Alliance

1999 - Club becomes a founding member of the ECB East Anglian Premier League, becoming EAPL champions in 2007, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

2010 - National ECB Cockspur T20 champions, winning live televised finals day at The Rose Bowl