< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sydney Sixers face Melbourne Stars in do-or-die clash

Colin Munro has failed to create impact in this season of BBL
Colin Munro has failed to create impact in this season of BBL

32nd Match - Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers
21st January, Melbourne Cricket Ground, 19:25 local | 08:25 GMT

Despite a promising start to the tournament, Sydney Sixers face an uphill task when they take on Melbourne Stars in the 32nd game of the Big Bash League at Melbourne Cricket Ground on the final game of the group stage.

Sixers, last played a game, a week back and they will be looking to erase the memories ahead of the crucial clash. A combination of Fawad Ahmed and Carlos Brathwaite dismissed Sixers for just 99 which was chased down in 10 overs by Sydney Thunders. This defeat took a severe beating on their net-run-rate. However, the good news for them is they still control their own fate and despite a poor net-run-rate, they can make it to the top four, if they win on Saturday.

In spite of the collapse on Sydney derby, Sixers posses a strong batting line-up but will be hoping for their internationals, Michael Lumb, Colin Munro and Nic Maddinson to shoulder the batting responsibility.

On the other hand, Melbourne Stars have already qualified for the knock-out stage but a resounding win on Saturday can secure them a home semi-final. Kevin Pietersen will once again remain the mainstay of their batting. With Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa joining the national team, Jackson Coleman and Liam Bowe are expected to feature against Sixers.

Face to Face:

The last time these two teams met was during the 10th match of previous season when Melbourne Stars riding on fifties from Glenn Maxwell and Peter Handscomb, both not available for this game though, powered Melbourne Stars to a five-wicket win chasing 140 runs against Sydney Sixers.

Squads from:

Melbourne Stars: David Hussey (captain), Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Liam Bowe, Jackson Coleman, Cameron Gannon, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Sam Harper, Ben Hilfenhaus, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Luke Wright

Sydney Sixers: Moises Henriques (captain), Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Doug Bollinger, Johan Botha, Ben Dwarshuis, Brad Haddin, Daniel Hughes, Michael Lumb, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, Colin Munro, Will Somerville

© Cricket World 2017