< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sydney Thunder beat Adelaide Strikers by 3 runs in BBL Thriller

Callum Ferguson 73 for Sydney Thunder in BBL

Sydney Thunder won a thrilling encounter against Adelaide Strikers by 3 runs at the Adelaide Oval, Adelaide today, in the BBL.


Match Summary

Sydney Thunder 168-5 – (20 Ovs) – (Usman Khawaja 63, Callum Ferguson 73; Peter Siddle 2-30)

Adelaide Strikers 165-9 – (20 Ovs) – (Jake Weatherald 52, Rashid Khan 42; Chris Morris 2-37, Daniel Sams 2-32, Arjun Nair 2-19)

Result – Sydney Thunder won by 3 runs


Sydney Thunder won the toss and decided to bat against Adelaide Strikers and scored Sydney Thunder 168-5 in their 20 Overs - Usman Khawaja 63 and Callum Ferguson 73 were the main run getters and Peter Siddle 2-30 the pick of the bowlers for the Strikers.

In reply, Adelaide Strikers fell just short in the run chase, losing out by just 3 runs – they scored 165-9 with Jake Weatherald 52 and Rashid Khan 42 top scoring and Chris Morris 2-37, Daniel Sams 2-32 and Arjun Nair 2-19 the stars with the ball for Sydney Thunder.

Coming to the crease with his side in dire straits at 7/118 and needing an unlikely 51 off the last four overs to haul in the Thunder's 5/168, Rashid (40 off 18 balls) launched a savage late counterattack in front of 41,414 fans.

Rashid smoked three sixes in his thrilling knock before he was run out as he dropped his bat while desperately attempting a second run to retain strike, with five required off two balls.

With four then needed off the last delivery, Wes Agar attempted to ramp Chris Morris but missed and was then run out trying to sneak a bye leaving the hosts three runs short.

Jake Weatherald (52) held things together superbly earlier after the Strikers started disastrously when Phil Salt (duck) and Matt Short (six) holed out cheaply before in-form Strikers captain Alex Carey feathered South African Morris to 'keeper Matt Gilkes for 19.

The Thunder was led by captain Callum Ferguson who earned Player of the Match Honours for his 73 from 46.

The Strikers will now have two days off and will leave for Coffs Harbour on Saturday for their match against Sydney Sixers at 6:40pm (local) on Sunday.




Adelaide Strikers - Jake Weatherald, Philip Salt, Matt Short, Alex Carey(c)(wk), Jonathan Wells, Cameron White, Rashid Khan, Cameron Valente, Peter Siddle, Wes Agar, Billy Stanlake

Sydney Thunder - Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson(c), Matthew Gilkes(wk), Alex Ross, Chris Morris, Daniel Sams, Arjun Nair, Chris Green, Nathan McAndrew, Jono Cook


Match Details


Start Time: 08:10

Toss: Sydney Thunder won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Officials: John Ward, Shawn Craig, Simon Fry, Eloise Sheridan, Daryl Harper


©Cricket World 2019