< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sydney Thunder name squad for Adelaide at Showground Stadium

Sydney Cricket Ground
Sydney Cricket Ground

Sydney Thunder's captain Jason Sangha said he and the club's playing squad looked forward to playing this Friday night's KFC Big Bash League match against Adelaide Strikers at the heart of Thunder Nation - Sydney Showground Stadium.

Thunder returns home after opening their season with a thrilling victory over the Melbourne Stars at Manuka Oval in Canberra after fast bowler Gurinder Sandhu struck a mighty six which set his team up for victory.

Western Sydney's BBL team finds itself pitted against a strong Adelaide team - which includes Chris Lynn, Peter Siddle, Rashid Khan, and Matthew Short - that defeated Sydney Sixers on Wednesday night.

Speaking ahead of the blockbuster Jason Sangha said:

"We took two lessons from our match against Melbourne Stars. The first was 'G' [Sandhu] is a more than capable batter; the other was finding our way out of a difficult situation.

"I think in the past we might have panicked in that situation, but Gurinder produced what I think is a good blueprint for batters - and all cricketers - to follow. And that's while T20 cricket is fast paced you do need to remain composed and to free your thoughts.

"Adelaide, especially with Chris Lynn at the top of the order, is a strong side. They played very well against the Sixers, a team which is always a tricky one to beat.

"We're looking forward to playing at the Sydney Showground Stadium. The Canberra crowd created an electric atmosphere, and we'd love to have that at the Showground tomorrow night.

"Our crowd has always been so supportive of us, and we look forward to meeting our supporters after the match."

Sydney Thunder squad v Adelaide Strikers

Ben Cutting, Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Toby Gray, Chris Green (vc), Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sang

Thunder play Adelaide Strikers at 8.15pm (AEDT) at Sydney Showground Stadium on Friday, 15 December. The match will be broadcast live by Seven, Fox Cricket and Kayo.

Sydney Thunder BBL|12 Squad 
Head Coach: Trevor Bayliss
Contracted Players: Ben Cutting, Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Blake Nikitaras, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Gurinder Sandhu, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, Sam Whiteman. 
Sydney Thunder BBL|12 Home Fixtures
Tue 13 Dec | Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Stars | Manuka Oval | 7:15pm
Fri 16 Dec | Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 8:15pm
Tue 27 Dec | Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:15pm
Sat 31 Dec | Sydney Thunder v Hobart Hurricanes | Lavington Sports Ground | 3:30pm
Sun 8 Jan | Sydney Thunder v Sydney Sixers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 7:15pm
Fri 13 Jan | Sydney Thunder v Perth Scorchers | Sydney Showground Stadium | 6:30pm
Thu 19 Jan | Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Renegades | Manuka Oval | 7:15pm