< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sydney Thunder seek redemption against Perth Scorchers

Ashton Agar will miss the game as he is set to resume his international duty
Ashton Agar will miss the game as he is set to resume his international duty

13th Match - Perth Scorchers v Sydney Thunder
1st January, WACA, 18:15 local | 10:15 GMT

After losing all the three games in the tournament, Sydney Thunder will be desperately hoping for a turnaround when they take on Perth Scorchers in the 13th match of the Big Bash League at WACA on Sunday.

Sydney Thunder have struggled to cope up with the retirement of Jacques Kallis and Michael Hussey while their premier batsman Usman Khawaja is busy with his national commitments. Even though, Shane Watson made a much awaited return to the line-up, he was dismissed for a duck in the game against Brisbane Heat and also dropped the crucial catch of Chris Lynn, which could have had serious impact in the result.

The form of Eoin Morgan and Andre Russell has been one of the major worry for the defending champions this season and wicket-keeper Jay Lenton is set to make his debut for Sydney Thunder in the place of Jake Doran.

Perth Scorches will be delighted to have opened their account and it was Ashton Agar, who scored a last ball six to take the team through after back-to-back defeats. They will be concerned with the form of their skipper Adam Voges and the comeback man Shaun Marsh.

David Willey has been impressive with the ball and so does Andrew Tye and the duo have done the majority of the damage with the ball while they will expect more from Mitchell Johnson. However, they will miss the services of Agar, who has left for national duty.

Face to Face:

After Cameron Bancroft and Agar powered Scorchers to 175 for five in the 20 overs, three-wicket hauls from Jehen Behrendorff and Tye restricted Thunder to 145 for nine, thereby securing a 30-run win.

Squads from:

Perth Scorchers: Adam Voges (capt), Ian Bell, Hilton Cartwright, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Klinger, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, James Muirhead, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, David Willey.

Sydney Thunder: Shane Watson (capt), Fawad Ahmed, Aiden Blizzard, Pat Cummins, Ryan Gibson, Chris Green, Jay Lenton, Clint McKay, Eoin Morgan, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Andre Russell, Gurinder Sandhu

© Cricket World 2017