< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Sydney Thunder win rebel Women's Big Bash League 2020

Sydney Thunder win rebel Women's Big Bash League 2020
Sydney Thunder win rebel Women's Big Bash League 2020
Disappointment for the Melbourne Stars
Disappointment for the Melbourne Stars

Sydney Thunder convincingly beat Melbourne Stars by 7 wickets, in the Final of rebel Women's Big Bash League today.


Match Summary

Melbourne Stars  86/9 (20)

Sydney Thunder  87/3 (13.4)

Result - Thunder won by 7 wickets



The  Melbourne won the toss and decided to bat and were bundled out for just 89 by some top bowling (and fielding) by Sydney Thunder – in particular Shabnim Ismail (2-12) and Sammy-Jo Johnson (2-11) who removed the top 3 batters with just 20 runs on the scoresheet.

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Elyse Villani - 2.1 ov), 2-20 (Mignon du Preez - 5.5 ov), 3-20 (Meg Lanning - 6.1 ov), 4-36 (Natalie Sciver - 9.6 ov), 5-37 (Alana King - 10.3 ov), 6-53 (Annabel Sutherland - 12.3 ov), 7-66 (Erin Osborne - 15.4 ov), 8-73 (Tess Flintoff - 17.4 ov), 9-86 (Nicole Faltum - 19.6 ov)


In reply, Sydney Thunder romped home to their second WBBL title, with 6.2 overs still to go, thanks to some top batting from Rachel Trenaman, Heather Knight and Rachael Haynes.

Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Tammy Beaumont - 4.2 ov), 2-44 (Rachel Trenaman - 7.6 ov), 3-54 (Sammy-Jo Johnson - 9.5 ov)


Match Analysis

A dominant bowling display set up the win for the Thunder who tore through the Stars top order to have them 5-37 in the 11th over. 

Shabnim Ismail (2-12) and Sammy-Jo Johnson (2-11) did the damage early, before spin trio Samantha Bates (1-18), Lauren Smith (1-18) and Heather Knight (1-9) joined in on the action.

Annabel Sutherland (20) provided some resistance and Katherine Brunt showed plenty of fight in an unbeaten 22 as the Stars limped to 9-86.

The Thunder lost three wickets in their chase, but captain Rachael Haynes (21*) and Heather Knight (26*) steadied the ship to see their side cruise home with more than six overs to spare. 




Melbourne Stars - Meg Lanning(c), Elyse Villani, Mignon du Preez, Natalie Sciver, Annabel Sutherland, Katherine Brunt, Erin Osborne, Alana King, Tess Flintoff, Nicole Faltum(wk), Sophie Day

Sydney Thunder - Tammy Beaumont, Rachel Trenaman, Heather Knight, Rachael Haynes(c), Phoebe Litchfield, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Tahlia Wilson(wk), Hannah Darlington, Lauren Smith, Shabnim Ismail, Samantha Bates


Match Details


Start Time: 08:10

Toss: Melbourne Stars Women won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Officials: Claire Polosak, Eloise Sheridan, Anthony Wilds, Troy Penman, Stephen Bernard

©Cricket World 2020