< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Sylhet Sixers maintain winning form riding on second consecutive fifty from Tharanga

Upul Tharanga was among the runs once again
Upul Tharanga was among the runs once again

Sylhet Sixers 148-6 (Tharanga 51) beat
Comilla Victorians 145-6 (Samuels 60) by four wickets
Third game, Bangladesh Premier League, Sylhet

Upul Tharanga maintained his rich vein of form as Sylhet Sixers chased down 146 runs with four wickets and one ball to spare in the third game of the Bangladesh Premier League in Sylhet.

The home side won the toss and decided to bowl first. Liton Das (21) and Imrul Kayes (12) got the team off to flying start taking them to 34 for naught in the first four overs but both fell off successive overs as Comilla Victorians ended the powerplay with a score of 40 for two.

Jos Buttler (2) struggled to get going against spin but Marlon Samuels (60) and Alok Kapali (26) got going with a 42 run stand for the fourth wicket before the latter was snared in the 14th over.

Samuels went on to complete a 41-ball half-century but with not much support from the other end, the Victorians could manage only 145 for six in their quota of 20 overs. Krishmar Santokie (2-30) and Taijul Islam (2-22) picked two wickets apiece for Sylhet.

Sylhet got off to a terrific start with both the openers Tharanga (51) and Andre Fletcher (36) attacking right from the first over and by the end of the powerplay, the duo smashed 59 runs without losing a wicket.

With Rashid Khan (1-18) slowing things a bit, Dwayne Bravo (2-34) reaped the benefit as he had Fletcher dismissed and by the halfway mark, Sixers were positioned 79 for one. Tharanga's run out after reaching his fifty triggered the collapse as Sylhet were reduced from 102 for two to 136 for six.

With 10 runs needed off the final five deliveries, Nurul Hasan (11 not out) played a decisive three ball unbeaten knock to take Sylhet home with one ball to spare. Tharanga was once again named the man of the match.

© Cricket World 2017