Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

T20 Blast wins for Bears, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Northants & Surrey

There were wins in tonight's NatWest T20 Blast matches for Birmingham Bears, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Northamptonshire and Surrey.

NatWest T20 Blast: South Group

Surrey 173-7 beat Middlesex 144 by 29 runs

Jason Roy handed Surrey a fast start with 35 in 19 balls before Kumar Sangakkara started with a cover-driven boundary and passed 5,000 runs on his way to 27 in 25 balls. A clatter of wickets meant it took Surrey until the 13th over to pass 100 but they rallied brilliantly to finish on 173 for seven.

Zafar Ansari cracked 34 not out in 25 balls and Tom Curren was unbeaten on 22 in 10 as they finished with a flourish to set Middlesex a tough task in reply.

They were not up to it as a string of players made starts but James Franklin would top score with 39 in 30 balls. For Surrey, Ravi Rampaul (3-21), Gareth Batty (2-25) and Ansari (2-16) were excellent and Middlesex were never really in the chase, slipping to 58 for five in the 10th over and struggling thereafter.

Glamorgan 175-4 beat Kent 121ao by 54 runs

After a delayed start, Glamorgan's innings was paused when they were 10 without loss and the match was reduced to 16 overs per side. Despite the reduced number of balls available to them, Glamorgan powered their way to a score of 175 for four.

David Lloyd led the way a brilliant 97 not out in 49 balls while Colin Ingram hammered 60 in 29 balls with six fours and four sixes, the pair putting on 132 for the second wicket.

Kent then ran into Dale Steyn in prime form and the South African speedster took four for 18 to leave them struggling. Although Alex Blake made 30 and Matt Coles 31, Kent were bowled out for 121 in 15.5 overs as Glamorgan pushed clear at the top of the table.

Gloucestershire 160-6 beat Somerset 158-5 by four wickets

A record crowd at Bristol watched Chris Gayle play out eight dot balls before hitting 40 in 26 balls to get Somerset off to a flyer, after which Jim Allenby (27) and Mahela Jayawardene (24) took over. Jayawardene fell to a brilliant caught and bowled by Benny Howell, who also had Johann Myburgh caught for eight as Gloucestershire bowled themselves back into contention.

Somerset finished on 158 for five with Lewis Gregory unbeaten on 23 in 14 balls and Howell finished with two for 29.

Hamish Marshall might have fallen to the first ball of the run chase but Michael Klinger's outstanding form continued as he struck 60 in 43 balls. Ian Cockbain (23) and Chris Dent (22) kept the home side on course before Roelof van der Merwe's spell of three for 16 brought Somerset back into the game.

However, Gloucestershire held their nerve thanks to Gareth Roderick's 22 not out in 16 balls and Andrew Tye's 18 in 11 to clinch it with a ball to spare.

Hampshire v Sussex - match abandoned

No play at the Ageas Bowl made it two washouts in as many days for Sussex, although the one point they gained did move them ahead of Glamorgan at the top of the table, if only for a few hours.

Pos Team Played Points
1 Glamorgan 6 9
2 Surrey 6 8
3 Sussex 6 8
4 Gloucestershire 6 8
5 Middlesex 5 5
6 Somerset 6 5
7 Kent 6 4
8 Hampshire 6 3
9 Essex 5 2

NatWest T20 Blast: North Group

Northamptonshire 161-9 beat Durham 135-8 by 26 runs

There was a dramatic finish to Northamptonshire's innings of 161 for nine as Paul Coughlin took a hat-trick with the last three deliveries to dismiss Robert Newton (7), Graeme White (3) and Richard Gleeson (0).

Those scalps added to his earlier wickets of Josh Cobb and Rob Keogh to fetch him figures of five for 42. Cobb struck 68 in 48 balls with five fours and four sixes while Alex Wakely (28) and Steven Crook (18) also made contributions before Coughlin pegged them back.

Durham then collapsed to six for three and 19 for four with Moin Ashraf (3-5) doing much of the damage. Paul Collingwood (38) and Scott Borthwick (29) then put on 59 for the fifth wicket but after Cobb dismissed Collingwood and Adam Rossington ran out Borthwick, Durham's resistance was broken.

They closed on 135 for eight, with some lusty blows from Keaton Jennings (23 not out) and Usman Arshad (14 not out) coming far too late to make any difference as Northamptonshire went back to the top of the table.

Birmingham Bears 145-6 beat Derbyshire 141-7 by four wickets

After confirming that John Sadler will take over as head coach until the end of the season, Derbyshire were invited to bat first by Birmingham, and posted 141 for seven.

Hamish Rutherford made 33 in 31 balls and after they slipped to 27 for three, Wayne Madsen (38 in 34) and Shiv Thakor (20 not out in 13 balls) helped them post a score.

Ian Bell then led Warwickshire's reply with 67 in 54 balls and Sam Hain made 28 but Derbyshire, with Matthew Critchley, Andy Carter, Thakor, Alex Hughes and Jimmy Neesham all taking a wicket apiece, kept the game tight.

Birmingham needed 17 to win from the last two overs and then levelled the scores with one ball remaining, winning the match at the last with Rikki Clarke not out on one and Ateeq Javid hitting the only ball he faced for four to claim victory.

Yorkshire v Notts Outlaws - match abandoned

The officials at Headingley waited until just after 8pm before finally having to abandon the game without a ball being bowled and the two sides remain at the bottom of the table.

Leicestershire v Worcestershire - match abandoned

The decision to call the game off at Grace Road was made a lot earlier due to the bad weather, leaving Worcestershire undoubtedly frustrated at losing an opportunity to extend their lead at the top of the table.

Pos Team Played Points
1 Northamptonshire 6 9
2 Worcestershire 6 9
3 Birmingham 5 7
4 Derbyshire 5 5
5 Leicestershire 6 5
6 Lancashire 6 5
7 Durham 6 4
8 Nottinghamshire 5 4
9 Yorkshire 5 2

© Cricket World 2016