< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Team Abu Dhabi beat Karnataka Tuskers in their final match of the Abu Dhabi T10 2019

Team Abu Dhabi beat Karnataka Tuskers in their final match
©Abu Dhabi T10

Team Abu Dhabi opted to open by batting in the final game of their tournament against Hashim Amla’s Karnataka Tuskers.

With fans cheering on both sides, the batsmen in yellow sought to bring some life to what has been a bowler’s wicket for the whole evening. Nathan Rimmington of the Karnataka Tuskers sought to demonstrate, however, that the wicket was still potent with opportunities for the bowlers, after removing top-order Avishka Fernando for three with a diving catch from Amla. Moeen Ali and Luke Wright held firm against a steady flow of deliveries from the Tuskers, with both men finding rich opportunities for runs between the wicket, along with the occasional boundary rope.


 Ali’s dismissal came at the end of the eighth over, after the TV umpire made a close call on his bat being in or out of the crease. The umpire found Ali to be at fault, but his stand of 35 made for a valuable addition to the Team Abu Dhabi scoreboard. Shapoor Zadran and Rimmington sought to restrict the local lads, but they could not restrain Wright from finding a deserving half century, closing his tournament on a total of 208 runs, the second highest scoring player behind Chris Lynn. Team Abu Dhabi posted a target of 129 for Amla’s men to chase.

The Karnataka Tuskers sought to muster a comeback to Team Abu Dhabi’s high total, but the bowling of Marchant de Lange and Harry Gurney constrained the men in blue to dot-balls and runs between the wickets, with Gurney taking the wicket of Johnson Charles in the second over for two. The Abu Dhabi bowlers kept the flow of runs low and the flow of wickets high, with Ben Laughlin catching Upul Tharanga for 10 and Himalayan hero Paras Khadka taking the wicket of Captain Hashim Amla at deep mid-wicket for 18.

Ross Whiteley and Shafiqullah Shafaq were looking for a final Karnataka comeback, but were constrained from the boundary rope, before Marchant de Lange took Whiteley on six whilst the UAE’s Rohan Mustafa got his hands on a ball from Shafiqullah for six. The only Dutch cricketer playing in the Aldar Properties Abu Dhabi T10, Ryan ten Doeschate, brought a six-seeking spirit to the game’s play, but the odds had already beaten the Karnataka boys, with the required run rate having soared over 52 by the final over. Team Abu Dhabi won by 34 runs, but neither team will move forward to the next stage of the tournament.

Speaking after his team’s exit from the tournament Captain Moeen Ali said: “I think the T10 is an amazing format. Although the fundamentals of the game are the same, it’s much harder than what people think because the tempo is really fast. Ultimately, we are really disappointed to exit at this stage, but hopefully we can come back stronger next year. The facilities of the stadium and the hospitality of the wider city makes this place a wonderful area to come and play cricket in.”

Trevor Bayliss, Coach of Team Abu Dhabi commented on the T10 format saying: “You obviously have to go out there and play some shots because of the limited time you have, but I still think there is an opportunity to get settled in and play some tactical cricket. The crowd today in the stadium were incredible, and if you can constantly grab that sort of attention, it bodes well for the format and for players coming to play into T10.”

Hashim Amla, Captain of the Karnataka Tuskers was in a pensive mood reflecting on his team’s performance saying: “I think overall we couldn’t compete long enough across different stages of the game to be competitive and get the required amount of wins to progress. In saying that, it has been a really useful experience for everyone in this team, especially the youngsters as they learn what to expect from the T10 format as it continues to grow”.

The semi-finals will see table toppers Maratha Arabians battle Team Qalandars for a place in the final due to kick off at 15:30, followed by the Bangla Tigers clashing with the Deccan Gladiators at 17:45, and will conclude with the second eliminator between the loser of the first match and the victor of the second.




©Cricket World 2019