Teams Confirm Initial Squads For IPL 2013

Teams Confirm Initial Squads For IPL 2013
Teams Confirm Initial Squads For IPL 2013
©REUTERS / Action Images

179 players have had their contracts extended as the nine Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises confirmed their initial squads for the 2013 season.

The franchises were permitted to extend contracts with their players under the same financial terms as 2012, something which the Hyderabad franchise - now owned by Sun TV - opted to with 20 of the Deccan Chargers players.

The IPL trading window will open on 19th November and in addition to signing and trading international players, franchises will be able to sign new uncapped India players, including the 52 such players who have been released by their franchises.

A salary cap of $US 12.5 million is in place for each IPL team, which can include up to 33 players in its squad with no more than 11 of them foreign cricketers.

Franchises now have the option of re-signing any players they drafted in as temporary replacements during 2012.

"The Franchises have clearly focussed on performance in the IPL in making their decisions as to which players will form part of their respective core groups for the 2013 season," Rajeev Shukla, IPL chairman said.

"Each Franchise has room under the Salary Cap to be able to sign additional players, either by trading or in the auction or, in the case of uncapped Indian players, by direct agreement with the player in question."

Among the international players who have not been offered new contracts are Twenty20 International captains George Bailey (Chennai Super Kings) and Stuart Broad (Kings XI Punjab) as well as Australian Test captain Michael Clarke (Pune Warriors).

Pune, already minus Sourav Ganguly through retirement, have also axed Callum Ferguson, Nathan McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Steven Smith, James Hopes, Tamim Iqbal and Graeme Smith.

At the other end of the scale, reigning champions Kolkata Knight Riders have opted to release only one player - Jaydev Unadkat.

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video