Ten Teams Confirmed For 2010 Champions League

Airtel Champions League Twenty20Ten teams will participate in the 2010 Airtel Champions League Twenty20, the organisers have confirmed with only one place still to be decided.

The West Indian domestic champions will join three teams from the Indian Premier League, two apiece from Australia and South Africa and the domestic champions from New Zealand and Sri Lanka when the tournament gets underway in South Africa on 10th September.

There will be 23 matches, the same amount as in 2009, and the final will be held on 26th September with venues yet to be decided.

Teams from England will not be participating this year because the tournament clashes with the end of their domestic season while there remains no place for teams from Bangladesh, Pakistan or Zimbabwe.

“The fact that only a third of last year’s field have re-qualified to play for the US$2.5 million first prize demonstrates the evenness of Twenty20 competitions around the world and the desperation of teams to compete at the world’s most prestigious domestic event," N Srinivasan, BCCI secretary said.

“There is no doubt that the Airtel Champions League Twenty20 has improved the quality of domestic Twenty20 cricket around the world and motivated teams in all countries to strive for a coveted place at the tournament.”

Airtel Champions League Twenty20 2010 line-up:

Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore (Indian Premier League), Victoria Bushrangers, South Australian Redbacks (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, Australia), Warriors, Highveld Lions (Standard Bank Pro20, South Africa), Wayamba Elevens (Inter-provincial T20 Cup, Sri Lanka), Central Stags (HRV Cup, New Zealand) plus West Indies' domestic champions.

© Cricket World 2010