Tendulkar Is 2010 Cricket World® Player Of The Year

Tendulkar Is 2010 Cricket World® Player Of The Year
Tendulkar Is 2010 Cricket World® Player Of The Year
©REUTERS/Mike Hutchings (SOUTH AFRICA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

The wait is finally over as the results are out for the Cricket World Awards 2010. Thanks to all of you who voted - now you can find out who, in your view, produced the best performances in 2010. Congratulations, of course, to the winners.

Player Of The Year

The runaway winner is Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar getting 48% of the votes, while Shakib Al Hasan received 17% approval from fans. Hashim Amla, South Africa’s prolific scorer in 2010, having enjoyed a dream run is jointly placed at the third spot with 13% of the votes.

Batsman Of The Year

In this category, Indian batting ace Sachin Tendulkar is head and shoulders above the rest with 68% of the votes from cricket lovers across the globe. Bangladesh opening batsman Tamim Iqbal came a distant second with 18% of the votes.

Tendulkar scored seven Test hundreds in 2010; only Mohammad Yousuf, with nine in 2006, has scored more. Tendulkar's previous best was five tons, in 1999. The champion batsman’s unbelievable run produced a Test tally of 1,562 runs, his highest in a calendar year, going past his previous best of 1,392 runs in 2002.

Bowler Of The Year

The honour is shared by South African fast bowler Dale Steyn and Bangaldesh left-arm slow bowler Shakib Al Hasan tied at 25% of the votes for the top spot. England's number one off-spinner Graeme Swann was the runner-up accruing 17% of the votes.

Dale Steyn, the venomous South African fast bowler, collected 60 wickets at 21.41 in 11 Tests scripting many Proteas wins in the process.

Bangladesh, under Shakib’s leadership went on to win three successive matches to beat Zimbabwe 3–1 in December last year. The all-rounder was Bangladesh's second-highest run-scorer and wicket-taker for the series against Zimbabwe with 156 runs, including two-half centuries, and nine wickets.

He led from the front to their first series victory against a full strength ICC full member nation, New Zealand with a 4-0 whitewash. The 24-year-old finished the series with 213 runs (most runs) and 11 wickets (most wickets) on either side.

Wicket-Keeper Of The Year

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the winner in this category with an overwhelming 47% of the votes.The 30-year-old did an exceptional job of leading the team with aplomb and remained tidy behind the wickets.

Some of the top Moments Of The Year as voted by you are as follows:

1. Sachin Tendulkar’s 200 in Gwalior

Indian batting star Sachin Tendulkar created history by scoring the first ever double-century by a man in One-Day Internationals against South Africa in Gwalior, earlier last year. The batting maestro eclipsed the previous best of 194, set by Pakistan's Saeed Anwar in 1997 and Zimbabwe's Charles Coventry in 2009.The knock included 25 fours and three sixes in an unbeaten 200 off 147 balls.

2. Bangladesh beating New Zealand 4-0

Bangladesh completed a clean sweep over New Zealand with a three-run win in the final One-Day International at Mirpur. They took the series 4-0 with one match washed out by rain. Fast bowler, Rubel Hossain claimed 4 for 25, in the last match, to complete a stirring performance against an established New Zealand outfit.

3. Abdul Razzaq’s innings V South Africa

One would find it difficult to remember a more remarkable game-stealing hundred than the one Sheikh Zayed Stadium witnessed in Abu Dhabi. An outrageous 72-ball109 from all-rounder Abdul Razzaq aided Pakistan to a series-levelling target of 287 against South Africa with one ball and one wicket to spare. The stunning knock featured ten sixes, single-handedly changing the complexion of the match in Pakistan’s favour.

4. India beating Australia in Tests & ODIs

India trounced Australia, their biggest rivals over the last decade with a 2-0 margin on the back of some outstanding bowling to start the decline of the cricketing superpower. Both Tests in the series were heading towards draws before Indian bowlers triggered Australia's second-innings collapses, setting up close finishes in each of the games.

Seasoned batsman VVS Laxman and fast bowler Ishant Sharma needed injections and tablets to play their parts, but they rescued India with a famous finish, winning by one wicket at Mohali in the first Test. In Bangalore, they reigned supreme with a seven-wicket victory powered by a masterful 214 and unbeaten 53 by the little champion Sachin Tendulkar.

India then won the three-ODI series 1-0, as the final match was abandoned without a ball being bowled in Margao.The result meant a fruitless tour for Australia. The last time they experienced something similar in India was on their tour of 2008-2009, where they drew the tour game and lost the Tests 0-2.

5.Angelo Mathews and Lasith Malinga’s heroics against Australia

The Sri Lankans were down and out in their chase of 240 runs set by Australia. They were tottering at 107 for 8 before a 132-run world-record stand for the ninth wicket between all-rounder Angelo Mathews and fast bowler Lasith Malinga brought them within close range of an improbable win. When last man Muttiah Muralitharan struck a four in the second ball of the 45th over, an improbable win was achieved. This sparked wild celebrations by Sri Lankan supporters at the MCG. Man of the match Angelo Mathews scored an unbeaten 77 off 84 balls in the pulsating game.

6. England winning the Ashes and the ICC WT20

England regained the Ashes under Andrew Strauss in Australia for the first time in 24 years with a resounding victory by an innings and 157 runs in Melbourne, with a man of the match performance by one down batsman Jonathan Trott who was unbeaten on 168.

Earlier, England ended a 35-year drought of not winning a global tournament with a seven-wicket win over their archrivals Australia in the final of the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 in Barbados. They restricted a powerful Australian batting line-up to a score of 147 for six and with Craig Kieswetter hitting 63 and Kevin Pietersen 47, England crossed the winning line with three overs to spare to confirm a comprehensive victory.

© Cricket World 2011