Tendulkar Takes Top Award At ICC Awards Ceremony

Tendulkar Takes Top Award At ICC Awards Ceremony
Tendulkar Takes Top Award At ICC Awards Ceremony
©REUTERS/Andrew Caballero-Reynolds (INDIA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar has been named as the Cricketer Of The Year at the ICC's annual awards ceremony, held in Bangalore.

Tendulkar beat off competition from England's Graeme Swann, his team-mate Virender Sehwag and South Africa's Hashim Amla for the top award of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

He completed a memorable 12 months by being named in both the Test and ODI teams of the year and becoming the first recipient of the LG People's Choice award.

Although Swann missed out on an award, his team-mate Steven Finn celebrated his rapid rise to prominence with the Emerging Player Of The Year award.

Sehwag was named as the Test Player Of The Year with South Africa's AB de Villiers claiming the ODI Player Of The Year award.

Australia's Shelley Nitschke was named as the Women's Cricketer Of The Year with the Netherlands' all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate picking up the award for the Associate & Affiliate Player Of The Year.

New Zealand took the Spirit Of Cricket award for the second year in a row while Brendon McCullum's 116 not out in 56 balls for New Zealand against Australia in a Twenty20 International in February earned him the Twenty20 International Performance Of The Year award.

Aleem Dar was named as the Umpire Of The Year.

“This past year of cricket has been another exciting one for players and supporters around the world in a time that included the ICC Champions Trophy 2009, the Men’s and Women’s ICC World Twenty20 2010 and ICC World Cricket League Division 1 and plenty of competitive Test and ODI cricket," ICC President Sharad Pawar said.
“These players have contributed hugely to our enjoyment and this night is all about recognising that excellence and talent.”

Cricketer of the Year (winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)

Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Shelley Nitschke (Aus)

Test Player of the Year – Virender Sehwag (Ind)

ODI Player of the Year – AB de Villiers (SA)

Emerging Player of the Year – Steven Finn (Eng)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year – Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Brendon McCullum (NZ)

Spirit of Cricket – New Zealand

Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) – Aleem Dar

 ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Simon Katich (Aus)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
James Anderson (Eng)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)

ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Paul Collingwood (Eng)
Ricky Ponting (Aus, captain)
MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Ryan Harris (Aus)

© Cricket World 2010