Tharanga, Mendis Recalled For Sri Lanka

Upul Tharanga hits out for Sri Lanka against Australia
Tharanga, Mendis Recalled For Sri Lanka
©REUTERS / Action Images

Tillakaratne Dilshan is missing through injury and Thisara Perera has also been left out of Sri Lanka's squad for the One-Day International tri-series in the West Indies which begins later this month.

Dilshan suffered calf strain during the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 semi-final against India and has been replaced in the squad by Upul Tharanga while spinner Ajantha Mendis has been recalled.

Mendis joins spinners Rangana Herath and Sachithra Senanayake in the 15-man squad having not played an ODI since the second match in Australia in January.

Tharanga played the first three ODIs in the same series before losing his place alongside Dilshan at the top of the order, first to Mahela Jayawardene, and then to Kushal Perera ahead of the Champions Trophy.

Sri Lanka play in the opening match against West Indies on 28th June before playing India on 2nd July in Jamaica. The series then moves on to Trinidad, where Sri Lanka face West Indies again on 7th July and India once more on 9th July.

The final is on 11th July.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Kushal Perera, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dilhara Lokuhettige, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis

© Cricket World 2013