< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

The Best of Tests: Tim May, Craig McDermott fall one-run short against West Indies on Australia Day

Curtly Ambrose

Test cricket mirrors life. The ebbs and flows of the format have given birth to some of the most breath-taking cricketing epics. A Cricket World Series, The Best of Tests, highlights the finest of these spectacles.


Match Summary


WI 252/10, 146/10 (41.5)


AUS 213/10, 184/10 (79)


Result - West Indies won by 1 run


Player of the Match - Curtly Ambrose



It was a period of transition. The famed opening combination of Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes had been broken after the former's retirement in 1991.


Haynes was also in the last phase of his career and had been joined by Phil Simmons at the top of the order. Brian Lara had already established himself in the middle order while Courtney Walsh and Curtly Ambrose were the leading bowlers for West Indies.


As for Australia, the Waugh brothers had made their way into the middle order and Justin Langer was making his debut.


It was the 4th Test of West Indies tour of Australia in 1993 and the visitors had been bowled out for just 225. Curtly Ambrose hit back with a six-wicket haul and West Indies, instead of conceding a lead, took a lead of around 40 runs.


Offie Tim May, who was making a comeback to the Australian side after three years, bowled exceptionally well in the second innings, with career best figures of 5-9-6.5 to dismiss West Indies for just 146.


With 186 runs to win in the last innings, Australia were reduced to 102 for 8, courtesy of another Ambrose special. This is when came Tim May joined Justin Langer at the crease. But, with 42 still needed, Langer was dismissed and May was left to partner last man Craig McDermott.


The tailenders had a brilliant 40-run partnership but as victory was just around the corner, McDermott was given out caught behind off a bouncer from Walsh and West Indies registered a 1-run victory - the first and the only such instance in Test history. 


©Cricket World 2020