< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

The Euro Cricket Vision

Looking at the rapid growth of t20 cricket all around the world, it was only a matter of time for leading cricket franchisers to enter the euro zone with a t20 cricket league.

The drafting of inaugural Euro T20 Slam on Friday in a Hotel Sofitel, Heathrow Terminal 5 in London, simply confirmed the ambitious plans of the organisers, who have been successful in scooping some of the biggest starts of world cricket.

The World Cup winning England captain Eoin Morgan, newly appointed Afghanistan captain Rashid Khan, star Pakistan batsman Babar Azam and recently-retired South African wrist-spinner Imran Tahir, were the leading stars in attendance, at the drafting ceremony.

The Euro T20 Slam brings together three European cricket Boards, of Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands, to offer an exciting tournament at their venues to be held between August 20 and September 22, 2019.

The six teams : Amsterdam Knights, Belfast Titans, Dublin Chiefs, Edinburgh Rocks, Glasgow Giants and Rotterdam Rhinos, announced its icon and marquee players, before the actual drafting, which had the participation of Darren Gough (co-host), Mark Ramprakash, Herschelle Gibbs and Anil Kumble (ICC), in various roles.

Besides Eoin Morgan, Rashid Khan, Babar Azam and Imran Tahir, the other well-known stars signed up for the first ever t20 league in Europe include, Shahid Afridi, Shane Watson, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Dale Steyn, Luke Wright, Mohammad Amir and Fakhar Zaman.

The organisers of Euro T20 Slam have allowed each team to pick 5-7 overseas players but each team should have at least 9 local players from Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands, in order to maximize crowd participation. The inaugural edition of the tournament will not feature any Indian players as BCCI, probably in view of the heavy workload, chose not to release its players.

The Euro T20 Slam Squads

Amsterdam Knights
Shane Watson, Hasan Ali, Wesley Barresi, Saad Bin Zafar, Philippe Boissevain, Varun Chopra, Ben Cooper, Ben Cutting, Brandon Glover, Alzarri Joseph, Sikandar Raza, Amad Shahzad, Tony Staal, Imran Tahir, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul Van Meekeren, Tobias Visee and Sikander Zulfiqar.

Coach: Mark O'Donnell

Belfast Titans
Shahid Afridi, Mark Adair, JP Duminy, Shane Getkate, Colin Ingram, Muhammad Ilyas, Andrew McBrine, Mitchell McClenaghan, Muhammad Nawaz, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Aaron Summers, Greg Thompson, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Luke Wright and Craig Young

Coach: Ian Pont

Dublin Chiefs
Eoin Morgan, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam, Andrew Balbirnie, Corbin Bosch, Dan Christian, Gareth Delany, Robert Frylinck, Harry Gurney, Tyrone Kane, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Kevin O'Brien, Simi Singh, Harry Tector and Lorcan Tucker

Coach: Daniel Vettori

Edinburgh Rocks
Martin Guptill, Corey Anderson, Dylan Budge, Kyle Coetzer, Anton Devcich, Oliver Hairs, Matt Henry, Michael Leask, Chris Lynn, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, Tymal Mills, Adrian Neill, Tabraiz Shamsi, Craig Wallace and Mark Watt.

Coach: Mark Ramprakash

Glasgow Giants
Brendon McCullum, Qais Ahmad, Richie Berrington, Ravi Bopara, Scott Cameron, Matthew Cross, Alasdair Evans, Moises Henriques, Michael Jones, Heinrich Klaasen, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Usman Shinwari, JJ Smuts, Tom Sole, Dale Steyn and Hamza Tahir.

Coach: Lance Klusener

Rotterdam Rhinos
Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Anwar Ali, Bas De Leede, Scott Edwards, Vivian Kingma, Fred Klaassen, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Samit Patel, Luke Ronchi, Pieter Seelaar, Shane Snater, Peter Trego, Hardus Viljoen, Fakhar Zaman and Saqib Zulfiqar

Coach: Herschelle Gibbs

© Cricket World 2019