< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Thirimanne, Siriwardana dropped for Australia Tests

Milinda Siriwardana led the Sri Lankan XI team against Australia in the tour game.
Milinda Siriwardana led the Sri Lankan XI team against Australia in the tour game.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Sri Lankan selectors have dropped batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and all-rounder Milinda Siriwardana from the 15-man squad which has been announced for the upcoming Test series against Australia.

Meanwhile, the selectors have called up pacers Vishwa Fernando and Asitha Fernando to the squad to bolster the fast bowling department which has been depleted in the recent times due to injuries to Dhammika Prasad and Dushmantha Chameera and the suspension of Shaminda Eranga.

Left-arm chinaman bowler Lakshan Sandakan has also been added to the squad and will form the spin attack along with Dilruwan Perera and Rangana Herath.

Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal will lead the four-man pace bowling attack along with Vishwa and Asitha.

Fast bowler Chaminda Bandara, who was called up to replace Chameera in the England series, has not found a place in the squad for the series against Australia.

The core of the top order has been retained from the series against England whereas Roshen Silva has been called up to the squad and Dhananjaya de Silva retains his place.

The three-match Test series between Sri Lanka and Australia will be played for the Warne-Muralitharan Trophy and will begin on 26th July with the first game in Pallekele.

Sri Lanka Squad for Warne-Muralitharan Trophy

Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal

© Cricket World 2016