< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Thisara Perera included for West Indies T20Is

Thisara Perera included for West Indies T20Is
Mixed reactions. Thisara Perera (right) makes a return to the Sri Lankan T20I squad while Lahiru Thirimanne (left) misses out.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera has made a return to the Twenty20 International squad to face West Indies in the upcoming two-match series.

Perera last featured for Sri Lanka in the limited overs series against Pakistan earlier this year, but was subsequently dropped having had a lacklustre series.

The selectors have continued to put the emphasis on youth by selecting Binura Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, and Jeffrey Vandersay.

Sri Lanka T20I squad

Lasith Malinga (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Angelo Mathews, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay, Binura Fernando, Thisara Perera

Dinesh Chandimal is also included in the squad after he was rested for the Pakistan series but Lahiru Thirimanne, who scored an unbeaten half-century in the second One-Day International against West Indies, has been left out. 

Lasith Malinga will lead the side consisting of seniors like Tillakaratne Dilshan and Angelo Mathews and Nuwan Kulasekara.

Kusal Perera, Kithuruwan Vithanage and Chamara Kapugedara are among the batsmen included for the series.

Sachithra Senanayake and Dushmantha Chameera will add the variety to the bowling attack which will be led by Malinga and Kulasekara.

Sri Lanka are currently the number one ranked T20I side and are the holders of the T20 World Cup, which they won in 2014.

The first of the two T20Is against West Indies will be played on the 9th of November in Pallekele, while the second game will be hosted in Colombo on 12th November. 

© Cricket World 2015