Three New Faces In New Zealand Test Squad

Three New Faces In New Zealand Test Squad
Three New Faces In New Zealand Test Squad
©REUTERS/Mike Hutchings. Picture Supplied by Action Images

New Zealand have named three uncapped players in a 13-man squad for their only Test match against Bangladesh which begins on Monday 15th February in Hamilton.

Opening batsman Peter Ingram, specialist batsman Neil Broom and fast bowler Andy McKay are the men without a Test cap to their name.

Peter Ingram is set to open the batting with Martin Guptill moving down the order and Daniel Flynn dropped.

“Peter Ingram has been picked based on the form he has shown in the longer versions of the game over the last three years of domestic cricket," selector Mark Greatbatch said.

"We always had an eye on him for the test matches, and this is his chance to step up.  The top order is an important area where we need to improve and we want to see how Peter goes at the next level.

“Neil Broom has been picked on the weight of domestic runs he has scored.

“We have moved Martin Guptill down the order. We feel that this is a more natural position for him and he is better suited there.  He is a quality young player and he needs a chance to play longer innings.

“Andy McKay has been a big improver this year with Wellington.  He took his opportunities in the ODI games he played against Bangladesh and in all formats of the game for Wellington, so now he has a chance to prove himself the Test arena. 

“Andy has some good pace and can move the ball around, which is always going to bother even the best of players.”

Grant Elliott and Jesse Ryder were not considered due to injury.

New Zealand Test squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Neil Broom, Martin Guptill, Peter Ingram, Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Andy McKay, Chris Martin, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey, BJ Watling

© Cricket World 2010