< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Thrilling contests in store when Melbourne Stars lock horns with Perth Scorchers

Shaun Marsh is due for big runs
Shaun Marsh is due for big runs

26th Match: Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars
14th January, WACA, 18:15 local | 10:15 GMT

Melbourne Stars will be hoping to continue the winning momentum when they take on Perth Scorchers in the 26th game of Big Bash League at WACA on Saturday.

After an indifferent start to the tournament where they lost two out of the three games, Stars are back on track with back-to-back victories and a win on Saturday's encounter can get them into the top two spots, if not for the pole position. They have replaced Seb Gotch with Jackson Coleman.

It was Scott Boland's four-wicket haul and Ben Hilfenhaus' terrific all-round effort that helped them secure a thrilling two-wicket win against Adelaide Strikers in the previous clash. They certainly looked missing their three Australian stars - Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner and Adam Zampa, who are currently on national duty.

The Scorchers too have their own problem after their leading run-scorer Mitchell Marsh is currently featuring in the ODI series against Pakistan and regular skipper Adam Voges is out injured. With Sam Whiteman failing a concussion test, they have Josh Inglis to the squad.

Face to Face:

It was Melbourne Stars, who emerged victorious on both the occasions when they faced Perth Scorchers in the previous season.

In the 31st game of the league, Melbourne Stars successfully defended 147 after three-wicket hauls from Daniel Worrall and Ben Hilfenhaus, dismissed Perth Scorchers for just 94 runs at WACA.

Their next encounter was in the semi-final of the tournament at Melbourne Cricket Ground when Stars chased down 140 comfortably with seven wickets in hand, riding on a blistering fifty from Kevin Pietersen.

Squads from:

Perth Scorchers: Michael Klinger (captain), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Hilton Cartwright, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Cameron Valente

Melbourne Stars: David Hussey (captain), Michael Beer, Scott Boland, Liam Bowe, Jackson Coleman, Cameron Gannon, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Ben Hilfenhaus, Kevin Pietersen, Rob Quiney, Marcus Stoinis, Luke Wright

© Cricket World 2017