Tiwary Replaces Injured Sharma In India Squad

Tiwary Replaces Injured Sharma In India Squad
Tiwary Replaces Injured Sharma In India Squad
©REUTERS/Parth Sanyal (INDIA) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bengal batsman Manoj Tiwary has been called up to replace Rohit Sharma in India's One-Day International squad after Sharma fractured a finger during the opening game against England at Chester-le-Street.

Sharma was rapped on the finger with the first ball he faced, delivered by Stuart Broad, and played no further part in the game, which was eventually abandoned due to rain.

"Rohit Sharma fractured his right index finger during the first ODI against England, and has been ruled out of the remainder of the series as a result," a statement from the Indian board (BCCI) confirmed.

"Manoj Tiwary has been named as his replacement," it added.

Tiwary, 25, has played three One-Day Internationals for India, the most recent coming in the West Indies, where he made two and then 22 in the final two matches of the ODI series in the West Indies.

He made his debut in February 2008, scoring two in a Commonwealth Bank series game in Brisbane.

The second game in the five-match series is at The Rose Bowl on 6th September.

India's preparations for the series have already been badly hit with injuries to Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar and Ishant Sharma hampering them.

India ODI squad: India ODI/T20I squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina (vice-captain), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Parthiv Patel, Varun Aaron, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Manoj Tiwary

© Cricket World 2011