< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

TNPL 2019: Jagadeesan, Silambarasan and Ashwin star in Dindigul Dragons' big win over Madurai Panthers

Dindigul Dragons team
Dindigul Dragons team

Dindigul Dragons wicketkeeper-batsman N Jagadeesan became the first batsman to score 1,000 runs in the Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Match Summary 

Dindigul Dragons 182-6

Madurai Panthers 152-9

Dindigul Dragons won by 30 runs

Dindigul Dragons openers Hari Nishanth and N Jagadeesan showed a positive mindset from the get-go and did not allow the the Madurai Panthers' bowlers to settle down. Both openers struck half-centuries.

Jagadeesan went on to score an unbeaten 87, at strike rate of over 170, which helped the team to 182. The score would always prove a bit too much for the defending champions Madurai Panthers on a tricky wicket.

Skipper Ravichandran Ashwin continued the trend of coming to bat at one down as a pinch hitter and scored 16 off seven deliveries including two fours and a six.

Meanwhile, Jagadeesan also registered a memorable feat as he became the first batsman to score 1,000 runs in the Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Despite Kiran Akash and Rahil Shah sharing five wickets among them, the Panthers bowling was ineffective by and large.

In reply, each of the Panthers' batsmen got starts, particularly openers Arun Karthik and Sarath Raj but Dragons' trump card Silambarasan dismissed both the openers on successive deliveries and then choked them through the middle, along with Skipper Ravi Ashwin, to a point where the required rate became almost unachievable for the Panthers' batsmen and they started losing wickets in desperation.

Dindigul Dragons- Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Ravichandran Ashwin, NS Chaturved, R Vivek, Sumant Jain, Ramalingam Rohit, M Mohammed, M Silambarasan, Trilok Nag, Jagannathan Kaushik

Madurai Panthers- Arun Karthik, A Sarath Raj, Nilesh Subramanian, Shijit Chandran, Jagatheesan Kousik, Akash Sumra, Abhishek Tanwar, J Jabez Moses, R Mithun, Kiran Akash, Rahil Shah